Skip to content

Penny wanted out of the American League

Sep 1, 2009, 2:55 PM EDT

Joe Christensen of the Minneapolis Star Tribune reports that the Twins decided against claiming Brad Penny off waivers after they learned that he wanted to go back to the National League.
Instead of the Twins assuming Penny’s remaining contract and taking the Red Sox off the hook for about $1.2 million, he was released after clearing waivers and signed what basically amounts to a one-month, $75,000 deal with the Giants.
Minnesota reached out to Penny through Mike Redmond and Carl Pavano, who previously played with him in Florida, and received indications from both the 31-year-old right-hander and his agent that he’d rather avoid another American League team.
Penny spent the first nine years of his career in the NL, going 94-75 with a 4.06 ERA before posting a 5.61 ERA in 24 starts with the Red Sox. On one hand players dictating waiver claims and roster decisions isn’t such a great thing. On the other hand it’s tough to blame Penny for wanting to flee back to the NL after seeing John Smoltz do the same with (so far) lots of success.

  1. Bob - Sep 1, 2009 at 4:39 PM

    Good….Hope BAD PENNY stays in the National League!!!

  2. Don - Sep 1, 2009 at 5:11 PM

    Just goes to show how hard it is for NL pitchers to survive in the AL and why AL pitchers do so well over there. It’s almost like the JVs vs. the varsity.

  3. Todd - Sep 1, 2009 at 5:25 PM

    Don, With 2 out of the last 3 WS champs being from the NL I can see your point.

  4. D-Luxxx - Sep 4, 2009 at 11:41 AM

    Todd, with the NL not winning an All Star game in the last 13 years, I CAN see his point. Overall, the talent level in the NL isn’t as good and the pitchers ERAs are boosted due to no DH. Duh.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2541)
  2. C. Correa (2524)
  3. Y. Puig (2524)
  4. B. Crawford (2409)
  5. H. Pence (2292)
  1. G. Springer (2236)
  2. H. Ramirez (2177)
  3. M. Teixeira (2158)
  4. J. Hamilton (2141)
  5. J. Baez (2107)