Skip to content

Ozzie Guillen pulls World Series duty for FOX

Oct 22, 2009, 8:25 AM EDT

This is a fabulous idea:

Chicago White Sox manager Ozzie Guillen will
join Fox Sports as an analyst for the World Series. He will have
pregame and postgame duties. Guillen,
known for profanity-laced criticism of his own team at times, just
completed his sixth season as manager of the White Sox.

I know a couple of sports writers. One of them spends a fair amount of time around the White Sox. Guillen, I’m told, will hold court for long, off-the-record stretches before ballgames just talking about whatever pops into his head. Politics, entertainment, social issues, sex, race, fans in the stands during batting practice, you name it. It’s almost all hilarious and almost all 100% completely unfit for television or public consumption of any kind. The man is brutally honest, but he is the last guy I’d want to put in front of a camera to talk if I was at all worried about my job security as a television producer.

But I’m not a producer. I’m a fan who wants to be entertained. Which means that, unlike when stiffs like Kevin Kennedy and Mark Grace are the big draw, I am almost certain to watch the FOX pregame shows this year.    

  1. Old Gator - Oct 22, 2009 at 9:33 AM

    …where he will become the Glen Beck of sportscasting, his special brand of vulgar loudmouthed lunacy and he’ll be in the ideal setting for it. Well, at least he’ll be more interesting than Steve Phillips. Color commentary? Heh, Salvador Dali never wielded a palette like Ozzie’s.

  2. k - Oct 22, 2009 at 5:13 PM

    “vulgar loudmouthed lunacy”? Speaking truthfully to the media and using the same words that he speaks to his players is not lunacy. To those that can’t handle a ‘shit’ here and a ‘fuck’ here, quit being a bunch of pussies.

  3. Stop Sweating - Feb 8, 2010 at 4:45 PM

    thanks !! extremely helpful post!

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2540)
  2. H. Ramirez (2518)
  3. G. Springer (2506)
  4. S. Strasburg (2398)
  5. J. Baez (2370)
  1. C. Correa (2356)
  2. M. Teixeira (2298)
  3. B. Crawford (2290)
  4. H. Pence (2285)
  5. B. Harper (2092)