Skip to content

Scioscia, Tracy named Managers of the Year

Nov 18, 2009, 2:45 PM EDT

Today the Baseball Writers Association of America handed out their Manager of the Year awards to Mike Scioscia in the AL and Jim Tracy in the NL.
Tracy received 29 of 32 first-place votes after taking over a last-place Rockies team from Clint Hurdle in mid-May and managing them to the Wild Card spot with a 74-42 record.
Scioscia was first on 15 ballots, second on 10 ballots, and received one third-place vote after leading the Angels to 90-plus wins and the AL West title for the fifth time in the last six seasons despite Nick Adenhart’s tragic death in April.
Scioscia previously won the award in the Angels’ championship 2002 season, while Tracy finished second in 2001, fourth in 2002, and third in 2004 as Dodgers manager. Also of note is that Ron Gardenhire finished second for the fifth time in eight years as Twins manager. Apparently the voters look at Minnesota’s success in the AL Central and assume that he must have done a good job, but then look at the mediocre win totals in what has typically been a bad division and conclude that it probably wasn’t the best job. I’d agree.
Of all the mainstream awards, Manager of the Year is the one I have the most trouble caring about. The BBWAA tends to vote for managers of teams that exceed preseason expectations or managers of teams that narrowly make the playoffs, while often overlooking managers of teams that are simply really, really good. Perhaps not surprisingly of the dozen MoY winners during the previous six seasons, five (Eric Wedge, Tony Pena, Joe Girardi, Bob Melvin, Buck Showalter) were fired within two years of getting the award.

  1. Mike G. - Nov 18, 2009 at 4:02 PM

    Tend to agree that this is a “who cares” sort of award, and also agree that good managers that take average or below average teams and turn them into winning teams tend to get ignored. Ron Washington did much more with less and probably should have won.

  2. hop - Nov 18, 2009 at 6:19 PM

    Sorry Girardi was clearly the manager of the year, hands down but the stupid writers who vote on this stuff and probably dont even watch 10 games a year sadly are the one’s who vote. idiots

  3. JDM - Nov 18, 2009 at 10:28 PM

    Most of these awards look at only a single season of excellence, and manager of the year is no different. The problem with it is that there are a lot of variables that go into a baseball team’s success in a given year. So, in effect, voters give the award to the managers who do the most with the least because, beyond that, it’s difficult to judge a manager’s impact in a given year.
    You don’t necessarily give the award to teams like the Yankees because their payroll enables them to get the best, veteran players. Joe Torre won it twice, in 96 and 98, when the Yankees were a home-grown bunch rather than a free-agency filled superteam.
    That works for me, but like Aaron I don’t think I really care all that much. I care about Cy Young and MVP and that’s about it.
    That said, Ron Washington should not have received the MOY award. Neither should Girardi, though he did a good job — pretty easy to manage when your GM spends a couple hundred million dollars the previous summer on superstud free agents.

  4. JudyJ - Nov 19, 2009 at 9:08 AM

    Just another disappointed, disgruntled fan whose team didn’t make it to the post season. “Superstud Free Agents” – hmm, sounds like your season went south quick.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. B. Crawford (2804)
  2. C. Correa (2567)
  3. Y. Puig (2510)
  4. G. Stanton (2465)
  5. G. Springer (2393)
  1. H. Pence (2313)
  2. J. Hamilton (2183)
  3. M. Teixeira (1978)
  4. H. Ramirez (1954)
  5. J. Fernandez (1923)