Skip to content

The Veterans Committee vote is in: Herzog, Harvey make the Hall of Fame

Dec 7, 2009, 10:04 AM EDT

The Veterans Committee — it’s two committees actually: managers and umpires committee and the “pioneer” comittee — just announced the new Hall of Fame inductees: umpire Doug Harvey made it, as did Cardinals and Royals manager Whitey Herzog.

No pioneers were elected. That means no Marvin Miller. He got seven out of twelve votes, which is just shy of the threshhold.  Totally bogus.  There was an audible groan in the press room when it was announced that no pioneers were going in. Not sure that the groan was for Miller’s absence, but I can’t feature that this room has a lot of love for John Fetzer.

But Whitey’s election is good news. The White Rat is deserving.  

  1. Simon DelMonte - Dec 7, 2009 at 11:14 AM

    Can you remind us of who is on these committees? I seem to recall that for players, the Veterans Committee is every living member of the Hall plus a few others. Clearly, that’s not the case here.

  2. Craig Calcaterra - Dec 7, 2009 at 11:20 AM

    It’s a small subset, made up of players, writers and executives. The word is that the players — Tom Seaver and Robin Roberts particularly — went to the mat for Miller, but that the executives voted overwhelmingly against him.

  3. Old Gator - Dec 7, 2009 at 11:20 AM

    Craig, Marvin Miller is the least of it. When those ambulatory sphincters didn’t vote Buck O’Neil into the Hall, I lost whatever little interest I had in the entire process. For as much as I care, you could stuff the whole lot of them into the cylinder next to Ted Williams’ head.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2605)
  2. C. Correa (2594)
  3. H. Ramirez (2567)
  4. G. Springer (2544)
  5. B. Crawford (2352)
  1. M. Teixeira (2344)
  2. H. Pence (2271)
  3. J. Baez (2257)
  4. J. Hamilton (2207)
  5. Y. Puig (2157)