Skip to content

Gearing up for Thursday at the Winter Meetings

Dec 10, 2009, 8:00 AM EDT

Disco Hayes.jpgThere’s not much left on the official agenda here in Indianapolis, but none of the fun stuff happens on the official agenda anyway.  For what it’s worth:

The Rule 5 draft takes place at 9 A.M. this morning. Even the prospect junkies I’ve talked to here aren’t terribly excited about it. There’s no Josh Hamilton, Johan Santana, Dan Uggla or Joakim Soria in this crowd.  Last year 21 players were selected. Only six saw major league playing time. Only three stuck all season with the teams that chose them. The draft is not going to make a tremendous difference for any team this year.

Among the potential pickees this year:  Marlins outfielder John Raynor is mildly interesting. Marlins pitcher Arquimedes Caminero is too. D-backs pitcher Hector Ambriz is someone else who has been mentioned.  You may have heard of Royals submarine pitcher Chris “Disco” Hayes, but really, his nickname is his biggest claim to fame. While submariners are evidence of all that is right and good in the universe, he’s basically a one-pitch pitcher.

Officially, that’s it.  Unofficially, teams and agents will continue to talk about the Roy Halladays and Jason Bays of the world.  But maybe not too intensely.  Many of the movers and shakers have early flights today (assuming the high winds and frigid temperatures here in Indy don’t cancel them all). As a result, the biggest deals are likely to wait for a later day.

But CTB is still on the job.  I’ll be blogging from the Marriott until they kick me out.  Aaron and Matthew will be monitoring the interwebs as well.  If it happens, we’ll tell you about it. If we miss it, we’ll make it up.  If it’s wrong, we’ll blame Jon Heyman.

  1. Old Gator - Dec 10, 2009 at 9:24 AM

    Not surprisingly, all the Marlins did was get cheaper. You knew that when Larry Beinfest said the Feesh weren’t going to be driven by other teams’ moves (ie, weren’t going to do anything anyway) that about all they were there for was to dump salary. They’re probably going to be stuck with Uggla until Spring training while the other GMs in the league (with the possible exceptions of the complete idiots who run the Mutts and the Toronto Feather Lice) wait for Uggla’s impending arbitration eligibility to squeeze Jeffrey Loria’s cojones like a wrackmaster for the auto da fe. At this rate, pretty soon they’ll have twenty five guys who have to pay them to play in the show.
    Speaking of the Feesh, I happened to drive up the Turnpike from the Golden Glades yesterday and passed Joeprodolshark Stadium. I had never really paid attention before, but that big yellow tarp with the Land Shark Beer advertisement/current stadium name on it is one ugly, cheesey looking name sign. It’s just a huge fabric stretched over the back of the scoreboard facing the highway – looks like a piece of cheap crap. The background is the color of a gonorrhea discharge, the shark fin looks more like a rose thorn photographed from beneath the epidermis of the poor bastard who got impaled on it, and not that this has anything directly to do with the sign, but that is the worst beer I’ve ever tasted outside of Ukraine. Hard to believe, but the sign looks about as temporary and chintzy as the baseball team that plays behind it.

  2. smsetnor - Dec 10, 2009 at 4:22 PM

    I’m a huge fan of Disco Hayes. His blog is amusing and you can’t help but pull for a guy who throws like that. I hope he makes the bigs some day.

  3. IdahoMariner - Dec 10, 2009 at 4:34 PM

    I second the “huge fan of Disco Hayes” vote — he’s an awesome blogger who is smart and funny and willing to tell an embarrassing story on himself. you ctb guys should steal him from his blog…

  4. Cheap Lamp - Feb 28, 2010 at 2:39 PM

    I’ve checked out your articles before, and I’m glad I came about.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2530)
  2. H. Ramirez (2508)
  3. G. Springer (2496)
  4. S. Strasburg (2391)
  5. J. Baez (2363)
  1. C. Correa (2352)
  2. B. Crawford (2283)
  3. M. Teixeira (2283)
  4. H. Pence (2278)
  5. B. Harper (2085)