Skip to content

The Royals sign another sub-.300 OBP guy

Dec 22, 2009, 5:15 PM EDT

It’s Brian Anderson. The centerfielder of the .227/.290/.370 career slash line.  He’ll go nicely with Jason Kendall and Yuniesky Bentancourt and the rest of the Royals’ “attack.”

Can someone tell me what was wrong with keeping Coco Crisp around?

  1. Royal Pain - Dec 22, 2009 at 6:16 PM

    In the of interest of speeding up the game, the Royals will stock their roster with low OBP guys. “We have to think of the fans”, a thoughtful Dayton Moore was imagined to have uttered.

  2. The Rabbit - Dec 22, 2009 at 7:37 PM

    Is it possible that Coco wouldn’t want to stay in KC given (a) he continued to play while seriously injured on the basis of a diagnosis from the Royals trainers and doctors(as reported by that infamous banned physician fan/blogger) and (b) it is the Royals, after all.
    Note: The injury finally ended his season. It could have ended his career.
    I like Coco and hope he lands with a contender.

  3. willmose - Dec 22, 2009 at 7:59 PM

    What’s wrong with Coco? DL

  4. Eat a Peach - Dec 22, 2009 at 8:01 PM

    Of course, the larger question is – why would anyone with a working brain want to stay in KC? Dayton Moore is running them into the ground.

  5. The Rabbit - Dec 22, 2009 at 8:42 PM

    Yep…and (b) is your larger question.

  6. ecp - Dec 23, 2009 at 10:03 AM

    I can answer your question, Craig: $5 million, that’s why. The Royals wanted to keep him around, but that’s an insane amount for a guy coming off double labrum & rotator cuff surgery less than six months ago. It’s not even guaranteed that he’ll be ready for opening day, despite what he says. Heck, he still hasn’t had his physical – it was delayed – he may not even pass it.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (3179)
  2. G. Stanton (2606)
  3. M. Teixeira (2492)
  4. H. Olivera (2420)
  5. Y. Cespedes (2407)
  1. J. Fernandez (2404)
  2. K. Medlen (2194)
  3. Y. Puig (2160)
  4. G. Perkins (2098)
  5. J. Eickhoff (2066)