Skip to content

Jose Valverde signs with the Tigers

Jan 14, 2010, 5:27 PM EDT

Yahoo!’s Tim Brown reports that Jose Valverde has reached a two-year agreement with the Tigers.  It’s for $14 million, with an option for a third year. I’m a bit surprised that a deal like that was signed this late in the hot stove season.

Indeed, from Valverde’s perspective, this is the best deal any closer has got this offseason.  Mike Gonzalez got two years, $12 million. Billy Wagner got one year, $7 million.  Fernando Rodney got two years, $11 million. Brandon Lyon got three years, $15 million.

But the real winner in this deal is not Valverde, however. It’s the Astros, who get the Tiger’s first round pick and a supplemental first rounder (query: does simply printing draft picks like Weimar Germany lead to inflation? And does comparing supplemental picks to Weimar Germany mean that someone is Hitler here? I gotta be careful with that lest I turn into a hypocrite).

Anyway, maybe the picks aren’t that much, but it’s better than anything else they’ve done this offseason. 

  1. steve s - Jan 15, 2010 at 4:18 PM

    If Valverde is that good, why didn’t Houston hold onto him? Besides, if one just looks over to the Yankees camp, I’d bet, unless injuries become an unknown during the season, look for the Bronx Bombers to win it all again. Why? They’re just loaded with talent, that only the Yankee organization can buy. But then, that’s another matter for discussion on another day.
    Like I said before…it’s really unfair to MLB how the Yankees go about their business. Very few teams have that kind of dough to buy players year in and year out!
    My suggestion…go and visit your local teams and watch a game…but don’t expect any rewards, such as a pennant or even a W.S. Championship…this year!

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. B. Crawford (2802)
  2. C. Correa (2561)
  3. Y. Puig (2503)
  4. G. Stanton (2458)
  5. G. Springer (2387)
  1. H. Pence (2308)
  2. J. Hamilton (2180)
  3. M. Teixeira (1977)
  4. H. Ramirez (1948)
  5. J. Fernandez (1920)