Skip to content

Jeff Francoeur: Good Guy

Jan 25, 2010, 9:30 AM EDT

As D.J. mentioned yesterday, Jeff Francoeur won the “Good Guy Award” at the BBWAA dinner the other night. Really, that’s the name of the award. As described by Brian Costa of the Star-Ledger, it’s given for being, you know, a good guy.

Must be a single-year award only, because guys who repeatedly fail to listen to their coaches, get sent to the minors to figure it out, whine about it and force the team to call you back up after three days aren’t good guys in my book.

But no, I’m not holding any grudges or anything.

  1. Moses Green - Jan 25, 2010 at 9:43 AM

    Bobby Cox loved him. And everyone openly calls him Frenchy, so he’s also got that going for him. It’s just fun to have a guy around that you can call Frenchy. That’s my honest-to-beelzebozo take on why he got the good guy award.

  2. Anon - Jan 25, 2010 at 9:57 AM

    Isn’t the only criteria for the “good guy” award willingness to talk to the press? And to give something more than a Bull Durham-eque quote?

  3. Not That Tom - Jan 25, 2010 at 9:59 AM

    I think this award is in reference to the charitable work he’s done in reducing waste in baseball. Throughout his career Francouer has drasticall cut down on the amount of baseballs needed in a game by selflessly not hitting them while up at bat.

  4. ditmars1929 - Jan 25, 2010 at 10:03 AM

    I thought A-Rod’s reaction was pretty funny. As he was accepting the post-season MVP award, he said, “Wow, what’s next, the good guy award?”

  5. moreflagsmorefun - Jan 25, 2010 at 3:35 PM

    Craig, let the Jeff Francoeur/ Ryan Church trade go, bitterness will kill you, any luck getting rid of Derek Lowe yet?

  6. Craig Calcaterra - Jan 25, 2010 at 3:42 PM

    Trade? The trade was the best thing that ever happened. I’m still trying to get over Francouer’s horrific tenure in Atlanta.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (3158)
  2. G. Stanton (2564)
  3. M. Teixeira (2485)
  4. H. Olivera (2406)
  5. Y. Cespedes (2387)
  1. J. Fernandez (2360)
  2. K. Medlen (2181)
  3. Y. Puig (2132)
  4. G. Perkins (2087)
  5. J. Eickhoff (2059)