Skip to content

Ernie Harwell to receive lifetime achievement award

Feb 11, 2010, 5:30 PM EDT

Got a press release a few minutes ago announcing that Ernie Harwell is going to receive the Vin Scully Lifetime Achievement Award in Sports Broadcasting. The award is given out annually by WFUV, the public radio station at Fordham University where Scully got his start.  The award will be given at the station’s Spring Gala on May 5th.

Two observations, the first from Pouliot, with whom I was just chatting with a moment ago, which is that given their commensurate stature, the award’s namesake and recipient could have been reversed and it would have made just as much sense.

The second, somewhat morbid observation: despite the fact that he likely wouldn’t travel to New York to accept it in person anyway, I sure hope Harwell’s health holds up so that this award is not a posthumous one.  Based on reports from last September, Ernie is already beating the odds, but I’d like to see him beat them just a bit longer.

  1. Irish - Feb 11, 2010 at 5:44 PM

    Harwell is the greatest baseball sportscaster ever! Who else in broadcasting was ever obtained in a trade for a player?????
    Most knowledgeable about the history of the game I have ever had the pleasure of listening to.

  2. jmendel - Feb 11, 2010 at 7:55 PM

    Ernie was the best. No one can even come close. I will always remember him listening on my grandma glider speaking in his
    smooth southern voice. God bless you Ernie. You helped make the fall of 1968 a dream come true.

  3. max raimi - Feb 12, 2010 at 11:30 AM

    How long has this award been around? And who on earth do you give a lifetime achievement award in sports broadcasting BEFORE you give it to Ernie? They should be giving Vin Scully an Ernie Harwell award.

  4. jeremy - May 20, 2010 at 3:12 PM

    I really like this photo, where is it from?

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2954)
  2. J. Fernandez (2339)
  3. Y. Cespedes (2314)
  4. G. Stanton (2161)
  5. D. Span (1957)
  1. Y. Puig (1913)
  2. M. Teixeira (1907)
  3. G. Springer (1862)
  4. H. Olivera (1842)
  5. F. Rodney (1822)