Skip to content

Dodgers bring back Gagne

Feb 18, 2010, 9:05 PM EDT

The Dodgers have come to terms with former closer Eric Gagne on a minor league contract, the Los Angeles Times’ Dylan Hernandez reports.
Gagne was also offered a minor league deal by the Rockies. Coming back from a shoulder injury, he pitched in the independent Can-Am League last year and went 6-6 with a 4.65 ERA and 64 strikeouts in 102 2/3 innings as a starter. He was last seen in the majors with the Brewers in 2008.
Gagne will enter camp as a major long shot to crack the Dodgers’ staff, but if he’s willing to head to Triple-A for a couple of months, he might be able to work his way back. It would, of course, be his second stint for the team. Gagne won a Cy Young Award in 2003 and saved 161 games in parts of eight seasons with the Dodgers.

  1. Ron - Feb 18, 2010 at 10:34 PM

    I always liked this guy, and still root for him. But also, I can’t forget how he signed a 1-year, $10 million contract with the Brewers, ONE DAY before his name came out in the Mitchell Report.

  2. Wells - Feb 18, 2010 at 10:54 PM

    Gagne is by far the biggest joke of the steroid era. Bigger than McGwire, Canseco, Bonds, whomever and whatever. Nothing said steroid enhanced like Eric freaking Gagne and his stupid 84 consecutive saves and nothing before or since. When I see ole Gagne sucking it up out there I can’t help but laugh laugh laugh.

  3. Brian - Feb 19, 2010 at 1:31 AM


  4. CharlieH - Feb 19, 2010 at 11:05 AM


  5. Omega in Colorado - Feb 19, 2010 at 12:47 PM

    Give the guy a second chance, the man deserves a chance to earn a living in his chosen profession.
    If you can prove that he is juicing and popping positive on tests, then I say cut him and let him fade away into history.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. B. Crawford (2756)
  2. Y. Puig (2426)
  3. C. Correa (2379)
  4. G. Stanton (2367)
  5. G. Springer (2271)
  1. H. Pence (2189)
  2. J. Hamilton (2086)
  3. M. Teixeira (1882)
  4. H. Ramirez (1872)
  5. J. Fernandez (1855)