Skip to content

Russell Branyan will be starting at first base for the Tribe

Feb 24, 2010, 5:42 PM EDT

Branyan finally inked his deal with the Indians today, and Manny Acta anointed him the starting first baseman:

Russell Branyan passed his physical today and officially became the
Indians starting first baseman. That’s right he’ll be starting at first
“He’s going to get the majority of playing time,” said manager Manny Acta. “We didn’t sign him to be a backup guy.

I figured that Branyan would have been more of a super-ute, spelling LaPorta early as he comes back from his injury, covering some left, maybe covering some third, but I guess not.  This should shift Matt LaPorta to leftfield and Michael Brantley to Columbus.

Which, while probably not what he had hoped for, he should like all the same. Columbus is way less depressing a city than Cleveland is.

  1. john - Feb 24, 2010 at 6:26 PM

    Stalingrad would have given Cleveland a running in terms of depressing cities.

  2. Old Gator - Feb 24, 2010 at 7:49 PM

    Aw, come on. It’s not all that bad.
    As long as you’re not a marshmallow floating in the Cuyahoga, that is.

  3. GimmeSomeSteel - Feb 24, 2010 at 10:30 PM

    Gator, that was 40 years ago, when the Cuyahoga was a sewer and Cleveland wasn’t that badly off. Now, the Cuyahoga isn’t bad and the city is a sewer.

    john, if you want depressing, try these–Camden, Gary, Newark, East St. Louis, and of course, the city Johnny Damon wanted to be in all along, Detroit.

  4. Old Gator - Feb 24, 2010 at 11:00 PM

    Buffalo. The sun came out last week and everybody scattered in terror.

  5. Charles Gates - Feb 25, 2010 at 8:07 AM

    Newark, NJ? Or Newark, DE? Sure, the Jersey one has gangs and drugs and violence and stuff, but Delaware has got the shoe bandit. Seriously.

  6. Charles Gates - Feb 25, 2010 at 8:15 AM–Newark-man–46–is-charged-as-the-shoe-bandit

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. B. Crawford (2792)
  2. C. Correa (2522)
  3. Y. Puig (2485)
  4. G. Stanton (2431)
  5. G. Springer (2357)
  1. H. Pence (2276)
  2. J. Hamilton (2166)
  3. M. Teixeira (1954)
  4. H. Ramirez (1930)
  5. J. Fernandez (1900)