Skip to content

Sandy Alderson hired to 'reform' MLB's office in Dominican Republic

Mar 8, 2010, 1:44 PM EDT’s Jorge Arangure reports that former A’s general manager and MLB vice president of baseball operations Sandy Alderson has been hired to “reform the league’s Dominican Republic office.”
According to Arangure the job’s focus will be “further preventing age and identity fraud and performance-enhancing drug use” among the prospects who can begin signing with big-league teams at age 16. Here’s a bit more from the story:

Alderson is a well-respected former baseball executive with the Oakland Athletics and San Diego Padres with almost 25 years of travels to the Dominican. He worked as the executive vice president for baseball operations for MLB from 1998-2005.

In that role, Alderson helped to establish MLB’s Dominican office, and also developed the structure for the investigative process that MLB uses to verify the age and identity of players signed from Latin America.

Getting hired to “reform” the operation that you helped set up in the first place is pretty interesting.

  1. Old Gator - Mar 8, 2010 at 1:59 PM

    If nothing else, Alderson will know exactly how to deal with an unruly bottle of dark rum by the time this gig is over. And if he’s successful at getting the fake age problem under control, can Taiwan bureau chief be far behind?

  2. YX - Mar 8, 2010 at 2:14 PM

    Maybe that he set up something exceptionally good but not fool-proof, and he is now trying to proof it against all those actually running it.
    Or maybe not.

  3. Old Gator - Mar 8, 2010 at 2:44 PM

    Yeah, kinda like when one of Bush’s external flash drives suggested that maybe he should send General Petraeus back to Iraq after totally fucking things up there by not listening to him the first time. Ah well.

  4. Ryan - Mar 8, 2010 at 3:08 PM

    Meet the new boss, same as the old boss.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2733)
  2. C. Correa (2643)
  3. G. Springer (2638)
  4. H. Ramirez (2638)
  5. B. Crawford (2430)
  1. M. Teixeira (2403)
  2. H. Pence (2356)
  3. J. Baez (2333)
  4. J. Hamilton (2258)
  5. Y. Puig (2236)