Skip to content

DiComo beats Bastian in historic 'Dot Com Dash'

Mar 25, 2010, 12:43 PM EDT

I wrote yesterday about beat writers Jordan Bastian and Anthony DiComo challenging each other to a half-mile race and the “Dot Com Dash” gained lots of attention as colleagues and fans picked sides.
Bastian emerged as the favorite because of his experience as a marathoner, but DiComo pulled off the upset yesterday afternoon on a high school track in Florida by finishing three seconds ahead of Bastian at two minutes, 32 seconds.
Here’s video of the race, although because there was no cameraman a big chunk occurs off screen:

Bastian was gracious in defeat, recapping the event in a lengthy blog entry and promising to train for a rematch next spring, and both guys were able to raise some money for charity. And most importantly (since we are talking about writers, after all) no one was injured in the process, although rumors are swirling that Bastian lost his car keys at the track and was heckled by his wife afterward.
Inspired by the thrilling “Dot Com Cash” and in the spirit of competition amongst baseball scribes, I would like to officially challenge Craig Calcaterra to a “who can write the most words about baseball without getting out of bed” contest, to be conducted every day from now until the final out of the World Series. And luckily for everyone, we promise not to shoot any video.

  1. Jim Artz - Mar 25, 2010 at 1:00 PM


  2. Anon! Mice! - Mar 25, 2010 at 1:47 PM

    May I recommend a Pimple Pop to be contested at a neutral grandma’s basement?

  3. DiComo Fan Club - Mar 25, 2010 at 3:58 PM

    Ay Yi Ai I Kus!

  4. Craig Calcaterra - Mar 25, 2010 at 5:37 PM

    I’ll have to move the bed to my mom’s basement . . .but OK, you’re on.

  5. Karl Bastian - May 3, 2010 at 11:51 PM

    That has got to be the most exciting video I have ever watched. Go bro!

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2606)
  2. C. Correa (2595)
  3. H. Ramirez (2569)
  4. G. Springer (2546)
  5. B. Crawford (2353)
  1. M. Teixeira (2346)
  2. H. Pence (2273)
  3. J. Baez (2259)
  4. J. Hamilton (2209)
  5. Y. Puig (2158)