Skip to content

27.7 percent of players on Opening Day rosters are foreign born

Apr 6, 2010, 3:46 PM EDT

Major League Baseball released some interesting data regarding player birth places, noting that the number of foreign-born players on Opening Day rosters is at a four-year low.
Of course, “four-year low” is probably misleading given that this year’s rate of 27.7 percent isn’t all that far from the all-time high of 29.2 percent in 2005. In a sample of around 825 players (30 teams with 25-man rosters, plus some guys on the disabled list) the difference between 27.7 percent and 29.2 percent is a dozen players.
This season 231 of 833 players on Opening Day rosters are foreign born, led by the Dominican Republic with 86 and Venezuela with 58. In fact, if you remove the United States and Venezuela from the mix there are as many players from the Dominican Republic as there are from every other country combined.
Pretty amazing for a country that ranks 80th in total population with around 10 million (or roughly the same as Michigan, Georgia, and North Carolina). Torii Hunter was unavailable for comment. Meanwhile, the Mets have the most foreign-born players with 18, and the only other teams in double digits are the Cubs, Angels, Rockies, Dodgers, and Rangers.

  1. dan in Katonah - Apr 6, 2010 at 3:54 PM

    [Insert Torii Hunter joke here]

  2. (Not That) Tom - Apr 6, 2010 at 4:00 PM

    Dey took er jerbs!

  3. BC - Apr 6, 2010 at 4:25 PM

    Venezuela has 58 players in the bigs? Who ARE these guys?

  4. Joey B - Apr 6, 2010 at 4:47 PM

    Do the Dominican imposters pretending to be black cut as Dominicans or Latinos or Americans?

  5. ChrisKol - Apr 6, 2010 at 8:47 PM

    Is Canada REALLY foreign? I mean there’s a Canadian team in MLB. The study says players born outside the US.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2603)
  2. B. Crawford (2417)
  3. Y. Puig (2347)
  4. G. Springer (2177)
  5. D. Wright (2055)
  1. J. Fernandez (2038)
  2. J. Hamilton (2037)
  3. C. Correa (1986)
  4. H. Ramirez (1971)
  5. D. Span (1941)