Skip to content

Browns to retire Eddie Gaedel's number

Apr 7, 2010, 10:26 AM EDT

Gaedel.jpgNot the St. Louis Browns because they don’t exist anymore, but this is kinda close:

On July 17, the Farmington Browns Baseball Club will retire Eddie
Gaedel’s famous number 1/8 in ceremonies between games of a twi-night
doubleheader at Lemay Baseball Association’s Heine Meine Field in St.

Farmington is one of those wooden bat teams that feature college players trying to keep loose during their offseason. Such leagues are great fun, by the way, so if you happen to have one of those teams near you, go check them out.

Everyone knows Gaedel’s story, of course. Given that he was a publicity stunt to begin with, I see no problem with the Farmington Browns Baseball Club using his jersey retirement as a publicity stunt of their own.

Oh, and from what I’m hearing, they’re going to grandfather this thing in Jackie Robinson/Mariano Rivera-style, so anyone wearing 1/8 on their jersey before July 17th will still be able to wear it until they retire.

(thanks to Ron Rollins for the link)

  1. Andy L - Apr 7, 2010 at 11:21 AM

    Best Madison Mallards game I saw (team of the type you described) was when they destroyed the Swedish national team. Thought it amusing that the BEST a country could offer was so much worse than a collegiate all-star team in central Wisconsin, no matter how much the Swedes don’t care about baseball.

  2. BC - Apr 7, 2010 at 11:53 AM

    Didn’t the Browns become the Orioles?

  3. Cardinal70 - Apr 7, 2010 at 11:55 AM

    Minor note: Current St. Louis Cardinal owner Bill DeWitt was the one that actually had that jersey, as he was the batboy of the Browns at the time. They borrowed it for Gaedel.

  4. michael standish - Apr 9, 2010 at 10:52 AM

    “Heine Meine Field,” eh? Isn’t that the park where they play “Eine Kleine Heine Meine Nachtmusik” at the seventh inning stretch?

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. C. Correa (2509)
  2. G. Stanton (2506)
  3. Y. Puig (2496)
  4. B. Crawford (2389)
  5. H. Pence (2254)
  1. G. Springer (2212)
  2. H. Ramirez (2139)
  3. M. Teixeira (2133)
  4. J. Hamilton (2111)
  5. J. Baez (2085)