Skip to content

Kyle Blanks, Troy Glaus wear the golden sombrero

Apr 8, 2010, 9:30 AM EDT

Stuff I missed in the recaps this morning: both the Padres’ Kyle Blanks and the Braves’ Troy Glaus went 0 for 4 with four strikeouts last night. I always like to see the clean statistical purity of a hitless, walkless four K performance. So clean, so satisfying on a perverse level.

I’ve only witnessed the rare platinum sombrero — which is five strikeouts — once, when Pat Burrell did it against the Braves a couple of years ago. Based on how bad Troy Glaus looks in the first two games this season I’ll put even odds on him doing it before the first of May.

UPDATE: Josh Hamilton had a golden sombrero last night as well.

  1. lar @ wezen-ball - Apr 8, 2010 at 9:42 AM

    In case you were wondering, Baseball Reference has record of 67 Platinum Sombreros. See here:
    I also expanded the search to find Platinum (or worse) Sombreros. That adds one extra game: Sept 9, 1998, must’ve been a terrible day for Alex Gonzalez.

  2. Dan - Apr 8, 2010 at 10:08 AM

    Josh Hamilton too

  3. Dave - Apr 8, 2010 at 11:09 AM

    Heh, great work there lar… of particular note is Dick Allen, who wore the platinum sombrero playing for Philadelphia against St. Louis in 1964… and wore it again playing for St. Louis against Philadelphia, six years later.
    He joins Alexis Rios as the only 2-time “winners”.

  4. Heyward Who? - Apr 8, 2010 at 1:36 PM

    I thought a five-K performance was referred to as the “Olympic Rings”. Kind of prefer that… Anyone know the origin of the sombrero lingo?

  5. Route36West - Apr 9, 2010 at 7:33 PM

    UPDATE : So does the greatest baseball player of all time, even though hes only played 4 games, the future Willie Mays / Joe DiMaggio Jason Heyward.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2989)
  2. D. Span (2540)
  3. G. Stanton (2473)
  4. J. Fernandez (2443)
  5. G. Springer (2426)
  1. Y. Puig (2332)
  2. F. Rodney (2217)
  3. M. Teixeira (2192)
  4. G. Perkins (2075)
  5. H. Olivera (1955)