Skip to content

Carlos Zambrano wants back into the rotation at some point this season

Apr 23, 2010, 4:42 PM EDT

Carlos Zambrano is apparently fine with the Cubs moving him to the bullpen … for now.
He reportedly told manager Lou Piniella that he’d like to rejoin the rotation in time for the playoffs, which is both interesting from a strategic standpoint and wishful thinking from a Cubs player.
Here’s what Piniella said about Zambrano’s request:

He did mention that. The playoffs are a long, long, long way away. Let’s just get through April right now. Let’s not put a time frame on it, let’s not do that. We need help in the eighth inning role right now and that’s what we’re trying to help ourselves in.

Zambrano is expected to be available out of the bullpen Saturday, which is when Ted Lilly comes off the disabled list to rejoin the rotation.
Piniella has made it clear that Zambrano will be used as Carlos Marmol’s primary setup man, working mostly in the eighth inning and for just one inning at a time. “We want to use him short and we want to use Marmol short,” Piniella said. “An inning, or an inning and a third.”
I’d still probably bet on Zambrano ending up with more starts than relief appearances this season.

  1. ecp - Apr 23, 2010 at 4:54 PM

    In time for the playoffs? Whose rotation is he looking to join?

  2. Spudchukar - Apr 23, 2010 at 5:01 PM

    I just don’t get this bullpen thing. Anybody who watches the Cubs, and I do because I am a Cardinal fan knows Zambrano has trouble getting settled in. If you don’t get him early you are in for a long outing. How does this transfer to moving him to the bullpen. Plus he is a sinkerball pitcher, and as we all know when they are strongest they are most often the least effective. Somebody please explain the rational of this move?

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2418)
  2. B. Crawford (2315)
  3. Y. Puig (2292)
  4. G. Springer (2067)
  5. D. Wright (2012)
  1. J. Hamilton (2001)
  2. J. Fernandez (1982)
  3. D. Span (1917)
  4. H. Ramirez (1886)
  5. C. Correa (1853)