Skip to content

The Indians give Kerry Wood his closer job back for some reason

May 10, 2010, 10:46 AM EDT

kerry wood headshot indians.jpgWhen the Indians activated Kerry Wood on Friday, Aaron thought that the Indians should ease him back into things with some middle relief work or something, but that the team would probably try to rush him back and get some saves under his belt so he could be more easily flipped sometime this summer.

As always, you should listen to Aaron, because he was right. After one major league relief performance — during which he allowed two runs over two-thirds of an inning against the Tigers on Saturday — the Indians decided that, yep, he’s the closer again. He’ll resume responsibility for the ninth inning tomorrow.

It’s probably all academic anyway. It’s not like the Indians have a lot of late-inning leads to protect in the first place.

  1. Shane - May 10, 2010 at 12:17 PM

    Wood pitched in middle relief on Sunday too. That makes two warm up appearances.

  2. Boo Hoo Florio picked on your team - GET OVER IT - May 10, 2010 at 12:24 PM

    I think it’s pretty obvious: The Indians are going nowhere this year and don’t want to keep Wood’s contract beyond this summer. They want to keep Chris Perez developing into their closer of the future by putting him in slightly less pressurized situations in the meantime.

  3. Misty Rocks! - May 10, 2010 at 2:05 PM

    Kerry Wood could pitch a ball
    For strikes whenever he’d choose,
    But now he’s brittle and tends to break
    Just from tying his shoes.
    I wish that I could have his job
    Oh that would suit me fine,
    I’d never pitch or have to work
    For sitting on the pine.

  4. Boo Hoo Florio picked on your team - GET OVER IT - May 10, 2010 at 6:20 PM

    I’m sensing that you are not a Kerry fan.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. B. Crawford (2715)
  2. Y. Puig (2363)
  3. G. Stanton (2338)
  4. C. Correa (2275)
  5. G. Springer (2236)
  1. H. Pence (2106)
  2. J. Hamilton (2057)
  3. M. Teixeira (1851)
  4. H. Ramirez (1842)
  5. J. Fernandez (1829)