Skip to content

Gregg Zaun headed to DL with shoulder injury

May 21, 2010, 12:44 PM EDT

Gregg Zaun left yesterday’s game with a strained shoulder and Adam McCalvy of reports that the 39-year-old catcher will be put on the disabled list today. To replace Zaun on the roster the Brewers are expected to call up 24-year-old prospect Jonathan Lucroy from Triple-A.
Angel Salome was once considered the Brewers’ top catching prospect and backstop of the future, but he was mediocre at Triple-A last year and recently took an “extended leave of absence” after telling the team he was “struggling mentally” and “not mentally prepared to play.”
Lucroy hasn’t done anything at Triple-A yet, hitting just .238 in 21 games, but batted .267 with a .380 on-base percentage and 66/78 K/BB ratio in 125 games at Double-A last season and has thrown out over 40 percent of stolen base attempts for his career. With modest power and a very good eye at the plate Lucroy actually profiles similarly to Zaun and will split time behind the plate with George Kottaras, who has started 13 of 41 games while drawing 17 walks and posting a 1.035 OPS in 60 plate appearances.

  1. Jonny5 - May 21, 2010 at 1:12 PM

    Maybe the NL should adopt a DT? “Designated thrower” This so the valuable catcher won’t strain their shoulder throwing the ball. This is the argument I’m hearing for the DH afterall. They could have a guy who does nothing but stand there and throw the runner out at second or back to the pitcher. Ya know, like the guys who just hit the ball and never have to wear a glove to catch it..

  2. Howie B. - May 21, 2010 at 2:45 PM

    I love that photo of Zaun. He looks totally pissed off. Noone with a mullet that sweet should ever look so angry.

  3. palehose67 - May 21, 2010 at 2:46 PM

    Now he’ll have a little time to make his website more ridiculous and awesome:

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. Y. Puig (1851)
  2. D. Span (1847)
  3. G. Springer (1840)
  4. H. Olivera (1819)
  5. C. Sabathia (1792)