Skip to content

Bud is still thinking about whether to overturn the game

Jun 3, 2010, 12:12 PM EDT

According to Larry Lange of the AP, Major League Baseball was “still deciding” whether or not to overturn the Galarraga game as of this morning.  Bud is talking to his advisors, the story says.  For what it’s worth, Tony La Russa — not a formal advisor, but the game’s only Super Genius — thinks it should be overturned.  Bud sometimes listens to La Russa on these things, sometimes he doesn’t. My bet is that he’s listening to his PR people more than baseball people, however.

After a good night’s sleep my original position still stands: don’t overturn it, because doing so — however satisfying it may be at the moment — would open up a can of worms.  Like I said earlier, you could change the call in last night’s Mariners-Twins game if you wanted to. You could do it a dozen times a year, really.

If Bud chooses to overturn this game, he has to understand that he’s not just righting a wrong. He’s setting a precedent.  One that will create a ton of new work for the Commissioner’s Office that, quite frankly, I don’t think it wants or needs.

  1. BC - Jun 3, 2010 at 2:33 PM

    I don’t believe there was any re-do or protest or overturning in the Haddix game. I believe he pitched 11 perfect innings and then gave up a double in the 12th and lost on (I think) an error. The question with the Haddix game was “what do we call it”, i.e., was it a perfect game or not? I believe they ended up putting it in the record book as a perfect game but with an asterisk.
    Similar thing happened to Randy Johnson one time – he threw 10 no-hit innings but left the game tied 0-0. Result: not recognized as a no-hitter. I’d at least have given him an asterisk.

  2. Ryan - Jun 3, 2010 at 3:07 PM

    It sounds like you are arguing that a wrong should not be righted because there are other wrongs and we can not possibly right all of them.
    Perhaps I am young and naive, but I can not accept this outlook.

  3. Josh - Jun 3, 2010 at 3:10 PM

    Craig: TLR is taken seriously in these matters because he is part of the “On Field Committee.” Check out Maury Brown’s Biz of Baseball site for the full membership (story last nov/dec).

  4. CA - Jun 3, 2010 at 3:43 PM

    Bill@TDS is right. I don’t see why “precedent” is part of this discussion–this isn’t about determining case law. It’s an incredibly specific instance in baseball where literally everyone agrees on what should have happened, and there was no impact on the game. Talking about potential precedents is being overly legalistic. The Mariners-Twins game from yesterday, the 1985 WS, ect. are irrelevant to this discussion because changing those calls retroactively would potentially change the outcome of a game. Nobody is talking about doing that here.
    Moreover, if you really must talk about precedent, then there IS precedent for the commish taking somewhat similar action for statistical purposes. In 1938, Jimmie Foxx hit .349 in 149 games; Taffy Wright hit .350 in 100 games (barely meeting the technical minimum requirement at the time of 100 games played). Despite technically losing according to the established rules, Foxx was awarded the batting title because pretty much everyone knew he was the better hitter, having had 400+ more PAs than Wright.
    Legalism didn’t rule the day in 1938, and it shouldn’t in 2010. Let’s not let technicalities get in the way of what should obviously be a perfect game.

  5. RobRob - Jun 3, 2010 at 3:44 PM

    Please stop bringing up the Pine Tar Game. The only reason that protest was upheld is that the umpires misinterpreted the official rule. Galarraga’s Imperfect Game is a blown call, no different than a poorly called strike zone, or a phantom tag. It is not a valid basis for a protest.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (3158)
  2. G. Stanton (2564)
  3. M. Teixeira (2485)
  4. H. Olivera (2406)
  5. Y. Cespedes (2387)
  1. J. Fernandez (2360)
  2. K. Medlen (2181)
  3. Y. Puig (2132)
  4. G. Perkins (2087)
  5. J. Eickhoff (2059)