Skip to content

The Cardinals sign Randy Winn

Jun 5, 2010, 1:13 PM EDT

According to Derrick Goold of the St. Louis Post-Dispatch, the Cardinals have signed outfielder Randy Winn. He is expected to be in uniform for Saturday’s game against the Brewers.

Winn, who turns 36 next week, was designated for assignment by the Yankees last month after batting .213/.300/.295 with one home run and eight RBI over 61 at-bats. The addition of Winn comes just days after calling up Aaron Miles from the minor leagues. And you know what that means. Gary Matthews Jr. can’t be far behind. I kid, I kid. Winn probably doesn’t have much left in the tank, but he could benefit with a switch back to the National League style of play.

In order to make space for Winn on the 25-man roster, the Cardinals optioned outfielder Jon Jay to Triple-A Memphis. Kyle Lohse was transferred from the 15-day disabled list to the 60-day disabled list to create an opening on the 40-man.

  1. Shely - Jun 5, 2010 at 2:31 PM

    What? I have no idea what this will do for them. I know they need clutch hitting, but this will not help. Maybe he came cheap. Would Walt have made this move?

  2. sjp - Jun 5, 2010 at 2:53 PM

    Great. Two wasted roster spots. The only way the Miles and Winn moves make any sense is if the Cardinals figure that it is better to have a crappy veteran sitting on the bench getting very few ABs than a kid that would benefit more from playing time in AAA.

  3. Dan - Jun 6, 2010 at 10:56 AM

    Miles was valuable as a backup in his prior run in St. Louis (he did a good job at SS in 2006 when Eckstein went on the dl) but I think he’s past his his sell-by date. I hope I’m wrong because TLR likes him and will give him a lot of chances.
    Winn is a bigger puzzle. What makes anyone think he can do anything Mather, Craig or Jay can do?

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2827)
  2. D. Span (2393)
  3. J. Fernandez (2302)
  4. G. Stanton (2300)
  5. F. Rodney (2135)
  1. G. Springer (2090)
  2. M. Teixeira (2008)
  3. Y. Puig (1973)
  4. G. Perkins (1934)
  5. H. Olivera (1829)