Skip to content

Cliff Lee is ridiculous

Jun 19, 2010, 11:29 AM EDT

Cliff Lee tossed a complete-game shutout in a 1-0 win over the Reds on Friday night. He scattered six hits while striking out seven and of course, walking none. Incredibly, the left-hander has walked only four batters over 77 2/3 innings this season.

Just to put things in perspective, Daisuke Matsuzaka exceeded Lee’s walk total for the entire season by issuing five free-passes in one inning against the Royals last month. Meanwhile, Lee hasn’t walked a single batter since June 2 against the Twins, a span
of 28 innings.

As we start to inch our way towards the All-Star break, it’s time to start thinking about his chance to make history. After Friday’s brilliant outing, Lee has a ridiculous 16.75 strikeout-to-walk ratio (67/4) through his first 10 starts. There’s still a while to go here, obviously, but if he keeps it up, Lee would be in a stratosphere all by himself. Bret Saberhagen currently holds the all-time record by posting a strikeout-to-walk ratio of 11 (143/13) with the Royals in 1994.

Things might not have went as Jack Z planned this season, but at least Lee’s trade value is increasing by the minute.

  1. ben s - Jun 19, 2010 at 12:25 PM

    Man, I really hope the Yanks get Lee, but I don’t want them to give up Montero.

  2. JBerardi - Jun 19, 2010 at 1:56 PM

    If Cliff Lee has actually improved his control beyond what it already was, he is going to be around for a long, long time.

  3. John - Jun 19, 2010 at 2:32 PM

    this is one world class pitcher we’re talking about here. i’d love for the sawx to get him. but we already shelled out 82.5 for lackey and it seems like lee is gonna be asking for the moon. he probably winds up with the yankees. oh well

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2546)
  2. D. Span (2383)
  3. G. Stanton (2347)
  4. Y. Puig (2292)
  5. J. Fernandez (2253)
  1. B. Crawford (2171)
  2. G. Springer (2100)
  3. M. Teixeira (1952)
  4. M. Sano (1843)
  5. J. Hamilton (1820)