Skip to content

Some of the Home Run Derby participants named

Jul 6, 2010, 5:30 PM EDT

The names of some of the participants in this year’s Home Run Derby — the ones who have confirmed already — were just announced. According to Tyler Kepner: David Ortiz, Corey Hart, Robinson Cano, Vernon
Wells, Matt Holliday, Miguel Cabrera will all be doing the back back back back back thing for the amusement of Chris Berman.

No Omar Infante? Maybe he’s just making everyone wait.

Like I said the other day: I’m with Tony La Russa. The Home Run Derby is a flaccid little made-for-TV spectacle. I’m not sure if what people say is true about it messing up guys’ swings, but I can’t see how it can help.

Anyway, that’s not exactly a murderers row of power (if anyone had Vernon Wells in their Home Run Derby pool before the season started, please step to the front of the room), but then again no one expected Josh Hamilton to go crazy in the thing a couple of years ago.

  1. Mr. Heyward - Jul 6, 2010 at 5:46 PM

    Where’s Ichiro? When’s that guy gonna step up (half kidding)? I remember long ago hearing that if he hits for power then the ball will fly for the fences. He simply doesn’t try to hit for power normally (and of course he shouldn’t since he can run the bases in like 2 seconds). I bet he could keep up with these “big boppers.”

  2. Cantankerous - Jul 6, 2010 at 7:23 PM

    I enjoyed the Home Run Derby a lot more when it was just the Home Run Derby. I don’t need on-field interviews, sponsored giveaways, and endless ESPN excess and human interest stories.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. Y. Puig (1851)
  2. D. Span (1847)
  3. G. Springer (1840)
  4. H. Olivera (1819)
  5. C. Sabathia (1792)