Skip to content

Five minor leaguers suspended for PEDs

Jul 7, 2010, 2:15 PM EST

The Commissioner’s Office suspended five minor leaguers for PED use today.  They are Yankees pitchers Daury Aquino and Alexander de
los Santos; Rays catcher Jhancarlos Infante’ Diamondbacks pitcher Joel Matos; and Royals pitcher Freddy Rodriguez. All of them are plying their trade down in the Dominican Summer League. They’ll all get 50 games on ice and a scarlet PED to wear on their cloaks.

I’m assuming only the prospect freaks — and I mean that in the kindest way possible — know who those guys are, but like your newspaper’s obituary page, I like to provide these occasional PED perp walks in case any family members are out their randomly Googling their loved ones.

  1. Buccofan - Jul 7, 2010 at 2:48 PM

    The first two have to be false positives. It is Known Fact that no one has ever or will ever use PEDs while a member of the YANKEE organization.
    All the others are certain abusers, since it is also Known Fact that everyone outside of the YANKEES is a cheater.
    (For the dense–that’s all sarcasm)

  2. SouthofHeaven - Jul 7, 2010 at 3:00 PM

    Thanks for clarifying that you were being sarcastic. Not sure we would have picked up on that otherwise, what with your sterling & razor sharp wit. (for the dense–that was in no way sarcasm)

  3. JBerardi - Jul 7, 2010 at 3:33 PM

    “I’m assuming only the prospect freaks — and I mean that in the kindest way possible — know who those guys are…

    Even among prospect freaks, the players in the DSL are all but anonymous. These are poor 16 year old kids who with a one-in-a-million shot of making the majors. Also, they’re playing a in country where PEDs are available over the counter in pharmacies. Well, we’ll show them! Love the drug policy, MLB.

  4. Ditto65 - Jul 8, 2010 at 7:02 AM

    I hate pictures of needles.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. J. Hamilton (3011)
  2. D. Viciedo (2951)
  3. J. Santana (2578)
  4. R. Castillo (2534)
  5. M. Upton (2508)