Skip to content

Lou Piniella is likely to retire after the season

Jul 16, 2010, 2:32 PM EDT

Sticking with Heyman, who reports that people in the Cubs’ organization expect Lou Piniella to retire at the end of the season.

This would shock me about as much as the sun coming up tomorrow morning.  The Cubs are on the brink of a massive tear-down, one would assume, and given how weary Piniella has seemed at times this year, it doesn’t seem like he’d be up for that even if the Cubs asked him to come back.

Heyman says Ryne Sandberg is the top choice to replace Piniella. This is something many have said and it makes sense. Heyman thinks that Sandberg could maybe use a year or two as someone else’s bench coach, but I’m sure why that would be the case. It’s not like he hasn’t managed — he’s worked up the ladder in the minors — and it’s not like he doesn’t know his way around Wrigley Field or the Chicago media.  Indeed, I can’t think of anyone who would be better prepared to just jump right in than Sandberg.

  1. okobojicat - Jul 16, 2010 at 3:31 PM

    The fact that Sandberg is the heir-apparent is the reason that Lou hasn’t already been fired or pushed out the door like Hardgrove in Seattle a couple years ago. They don’t want Sandberg to start his MLB career with an obviously unsuccessful team and bringing in an interim manager who might make a run or who might connect well with the media would make it very very difficult to bring in Sandberg next year.

  2. The Real Shuxion - Jul 16, 2010 at 3:35 PM

    He could always go to Kansas City and stunt the growth of their prospects like he did in Tampa.

  3. willmose - Jul 16, 2010 at 7:00 PM

    Lou after the season burn your Cub uniform and just maybe you won’t be labeled a loser for the rest of your life.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2865)
  2. D. Span (2439)
  3. G. Stanton (2346)
  4. J. Fernandez (2346)
  5. G. Springer (2208)
  1. F. Rodney (2154)
  2. Y. Puig (2110)
  3. M. Teixeira (2061)
  4. G. Perkins (1988)
  5. H. Olivera (1862)