Skip to content

Omar Minaya on Jerry Manuel: "He's our manager and I see him being our manager"

Jul 23, 2010, 11:43 AM EDT

Responding to recent articles suggesting Jerry Manuel is on the hot seat, general manager Omar Minaya gave the Mets’ manager a vote of confidence yesterday:

He’s our manager and I see him being our manager.

Adam Rubin of called that “an unequivocal vote of confidence” as opposed to the usual “dreaded vote of confidence,” but either way the wording of that quote seems sort of odd to me.
Of course, John Harper of the New York Daily News points out that Minaya may not have any more job security than Manuel and how much good is an oddly worded vote of confidence from a guy who might also be fired at any moment?

  1. Simon DelMonte - Jul 23, 2010 at 12:02 PM

    If one goes, the other is not far behind. That’s clear. Though I just don’t see firing Manuel today as being worthwhile. New manager X – let’s call him Bob – might change how some things are done. But he’s not going to solve the problems that are facing the Mets right now. It’s change for change’s sake, same as we saw with the other midseason firings so far. And if it’s really Bob Melvin, as opposed to someone like Kirk Gibson getting a half season tryout, it doesn’t even point towards the future.
    Never mind that the same Jerry who is managing now was managing when the team got hot. I will lay good odds that if they leave him alone, the Mets will snap out of this slump and come home and play very well for two weeks and get in the wild card hunt and everyone will once again forget the “bad” Jerry.

  2. NYYFanInBama - Jul 23, 2010 at 12:19 PM

    I seem to remember Omar making a similar statement about 24 hours before he fired Willie Randolph.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2426)
  2. B. Crawford (2318)
  3. Y. Puig (2292)
  4. G. Springer (2068)
  5. D. Wright (2013)
  1. J. Hamilton (2003)
  2. J. Fernandez (1986)
  3. D. Span (1917)
  4. H. Ramirez (1887)
  5. C. Correa (1853)