Skip to content

Remember when Steve Phillips said he'd trade Stephen Strasburg for Roy Oswalt?

Jul 29, 2010, 6:46 PM EDT

It seems like a good time to point out that two months ago former Mets general manager, former ESPN analyst, and current AOL Fanhouse contributor Steve Phillips said during a radio interview that he’d trade Stephen Strasburg for Roy Oswalt if he were running the Astros.
And then he shot a video “defending himself and explaining why dealing an unproven commodity for an ace might not be a bad idea.”
Turns out the Astros got juuuuuuuuuuust slightly less than the world’s best pitching prospect in exchange for Oswalt, settling instead for a 27-year-old mid-rotation starter, a toolsy 19-year-old shortstop, and (after they flip Anthony Gose to Toronto, apparently) Triple-A first baseman Brett Wallace and his rapidly declining stock.
I’d normally make some sort of joke here about how this is the reason why Phillips is no longer a GM, but in truth his thinking Strasburg-for-Oswalt was a good idea probably doesn’t even make the list.

  1. DonnieBaseball23 - Jul 29, 2010 at 7:19 PM

    I will remember Mr. Phillips’ comment during the 2011 season when Roy O is racking up 20 W’s with the Phils and Strasburg is trying not to become Mark Prior.

  2. Deep Blue - Jul 30, 2010 at 5:14 AM

    I thought perhaps you were going to go the other way on this – talking about how Strasburg’s injury makes this plan look a lot more reasonable. Quite a few people in MLB think Strasburg’s mechanics make him likely to suffer injury.

  3. Benny Blanco - Jul 30, 2010 at 9:02 AM

    I dont agree with Phillips on this trade idea, but Strasburgs injury, even if its a minor one, kind of vindicates Phillips remarks.
    Nevertheless, Strasburg has too much potential to trade.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2858)
  2. D. Span (2431)
  3. G. Stanton (2336)
  4. J. Fernandez (2335)
  5. G. Springer (2187)
  1. F. Rodney (2151)
  2. Y. Puig (2092)
  3. M. Teixeira (2045)
  4. G. Perkins (1973)
  5. H. Olivera (1855)