Skip to content

Filming for the "Moneyball" movie is underway in Oakland

Jul 30, 2010, 2:19 PM EDT

Susan Slusser of the San Francisco Chronicle writes that the “Moneyball” movie has started filming in Oakland with scenes from the A’s record-setting 20th straight win in 2002.
Scott Hatteberg delivered the game-winning homer in real life and actor Chris Pratt (who plays Andy in the super-awesome “Parks and Recreation” on NBC) is portraying him in the movie. And that’s when hilarity ensues:

Pratt, playing Hatteberg, didn’t exactly have the same result in his at-bat that Hatteberg did when his pinch-hit homer beat the Royals 12-11 in the bottom of the ninth on Sept. 4, 2002. …
“They said, ‘No matter what, if it’s in fair territory, act like it’s a home run,'” [A’s batboy Jordan] Iserson reported. “His first swing was a weak broken-bat ground ball and everyone rushed out there like it went into the fifth row.”

Ah, Hollywood. I suspect they’ll have the opposite problem when it comes to shooting the 2001 scene where Derek Jeter’s flip to Jorge Posada nails Jeremy Giambi at the plate, because no actor is going to believe not sliding in that spot is realistic.

  1. paul-e - Jul 30, 2010 at 3:12 PM

    Well, except that the Jeter – Giambi play at the plate happened in 2001. In ’02 the Yankees lost to the Angels and the A’s lost to Minnesota.

  2. APBA Guy - Jul 30, 2010 at 6:26 PM

    Interesting casting: Philip S Hoffman playing Art Howe. Hoffman was at the Mausoleum a week ago when shooting in Oakland actually started (sound stage work had previously begun in Hollywood). All the East Bay skanks, and I use that term with great affection, are anxiously awaiting Brad Pitt’s appearance in Oakland. “What’s that Angelina Joy Lee got that I don’t?” (gum pop) “She’s too old and too skinny!”. I swear I heard that multiple times.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2612)
  2. G. Stanton (2458)
  3. D. Span (2419)
  4. Y. Puig (2372)
  5. J. Fernandez (2303)
  1. B. Crawford (2271)
  2. G. Springer (2208)
  3. M. Teixeira (2134)
  4. J. Hamilton (2077)
  5. H. Pence (1944)