Skip to content

More shoulder problems send Travis Hafner to disabled list

Aug 3, 2010, 5:19 PM EDT

Travis Hafner has missed the past five games with shoulder soreness and the Indians placed him on the disabled list this afternoon. Hafner has a long history of shoulder problems, so while his latest malady is being called merely “soreness” for now it wouldn’t be surprising if it proved to be more serious.
While nowhere near his MVP-caliber production from 2005/2006 he’s posted an OPS around .800 both this year and last year, but it looks like Hafner will end up playing fewer than 100 games for the third straight season.
He’s still owed $13 million in each of the next two seasons with a $13 million option or $2.75 million buyout for 2013, so the Indians will try to squeeze whatever value they can out of one of the most regrettable signings in team history.
Shelley Duncan and Jordan Brown figure to see action at designated hitter for however long Hafner is out.

  1. bigtrav425 - Aug 3, 2010 at 6:59 PM

    ugh…is all i can say as a tribe fan..can it be 2012 already ?

  2. djeg07 - Aug 3, 2010 at 7:12 PM

    i think dolans train to many rings has done derailed, caught on fire, exploded and took all signs of an accident with it. this was the start with hafner, signing for way too much for a non-fielding player. I dont remember many that made that much for 1 good years worht of a career. What a joke he is and a joke this team has been. Akron is more entertaining that both aaa and mlb. AA is just a continuation of high school ball where they all try hard. let hafner go, eat the money and suck it up rather than hoping he does something as he did in 07 and prior.

  3. Tribester - Aug 3, 2010 at 11:41 PM

    Wow, this makes 30-year-old Shelley Duncan the oldest member of the active roster.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2696)
  2. C. Correa (2584)
  3. Y. Puig (2574)
  4. B. Crawford (2461)
  5. G. Springer (2449)
  1. H. Pence (2353)
  2. H. Ramirez (2315)
  3. M. Teixeira (2253)
  4. J. Hamilton (2235)
  5. J. Baez (2214)