Skip to content

Wilpon says that Omar Minaya will be the Mets' GM in 2011

Aug 5, 2010, 3:13 PM EDT

Everyone is wondering if this disappointing season will be the last go-around for Omar Minaya as the Mets’ general manager.  Owner Fred Wilpon says that it’s an absolute certainty:

Wilpon, in East Hartford, Conn., to help announce a new partnership
between SNY and UConn athletics, brushed aside reporters’ inquiries
about his floundering Mets. But as Wilpon walked away, a Post reporter
asked if Minaya would remain the team’s GM beyond this year.

“Is the sun going to come up tomorrow?” Wilpon answered.

Of course it would explain a hell of a lot more about the state of the Mets if that question wasn’t rhetorical and Wilpon simply didn’t know.

UPDATE: Matthew Cerrone — who knows more about the inner-workings of the Mets than I’ll ever know — doesn’t think we should read too much into this.

  1. bigshotrob - Aug 5, 2010 at 3:24 PM

    If true, that’s good news for the other teams in the NL east.

  2. BC - Aug 5, 2010 at 3:25 PM


  3. BC - Aug 5, 2010 at 3:50 PM

    Hey… Wilpon is only about 5 minutes away from where I work. Maybe I can flag him down for a couple beers and talk some sense into him.

  4. Simon DelMonte - Aug 5, 2010 at 3:50 PM

    I will wait and see. It’s not like Wilpon Jr was in a position to say “yeah, he’s as good as fired.”

  5. Old Gator - Aug 5, 2010 at 4:46 PM

    I hear you cry. Tell me where to send you a case of synthetic endorphins.

  6. Dan in Katonah - Aug 5, 2010 at 5:25 PM

    First time I ever wished the sun wouldn’t come up in the morning…

  7. Old Gator - Aug 5, 2010 at 7:46 PM

    Don’t worry. 2012 is just around the corner. If Wilpon is a Wimpon, the planetary alignments will do the job.

  8. walk - Aug 5, 2010 at 8:32 PM

    As a braves fan im giving new york two thumbs up for this move. Keep up the good work.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. Y. Puig (2732)
  2. B. Zobrist (2671)
  3. D. Travis (2656)
  4. M. Saunders (2602)
  5. A. Rendon (2596)