Skip to content

Red Sox sign Carlos Delgado to minor league contract

Aug 7, 2010, 12:41 PM EDT

Ken Rosenthal of reports that the Red Sox have signed free agent first baseman Carlos Delgado to a minor league contract.

As a condition of the agreement, the veteran slugger must be in the major leagues by September 1 or he can become a free agent. He’ll receive a pro-rated portion of a $3 million salary if or when he joins the active roster. The Red Sox have also agreed to not offer him arbitration this winter.

Mike Silverman of the Boston Herald reports that Delgado is expected to join Triple-A Pawtucket either today or tomorrow and begin playing as soon as possible. The 38-year-old first baseman hasn’t played in the majors since last May due to multiple hip surgeries.

Now that Kevin Youkilis is lost for the season due to thumb surgery, the Red Sox have been in the market for a left-handed compliment to Mike Lowell at first base. Neither are the most durable of options at this point in their respective careers, but Delgado did bat .298/.393/.521 over his first 94 at-bats last season. This is your classic case of a low risk, high-reward type move.

  1. Old Gator - Aug 7, 2010 at 1:24 PM

    Carlos is a smart, tough, determined competitor and I wish him the best.
    But then, I’d wish Keyser Soze the best if Scrooge McLoria had screwed him over too.

  2. andrewlw - Aug 7, 2010 at 6:30 PM

    Going to be weird seeing Carlos in a Red Sox uniform but glad to get a chance to see him play again.

  3. Pisano - Aug 9, 2010 at 12:08 AM

    Not really , (seeing him in a sox uniform) They’ve had every retread they could find this year . With all the injuries they’ve had , it’s a wonder they can field a team .

  4. Benny Blanco - Aug 9, 2010 at 9:14 AM

    Good luck to him.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2900)
  2. D. Span (2472)
  3. G. Stanton (2383)
  4. J. Fernandez (2377)
  5. G. Springer (2296)
  1. Y. Puig (2193)
  2. F. Rodney (2179)
  3. M. Teixeira (2110)
  4. G. Perkins (2028)
  5. H. Olivera (1888)