Skip to content

Report: Rockies will release Brad Hawpe late Wednesday

Aug 18, 2010, 10:04 PM EDT

Troy Renck of the Denver Post has been all over the Brad Hawpe news front since he was placed on waivers last week.  And now Renck has a breaking report. 

The Post columnist and beat writer heard from sources Wednesday that Hawpe is going to be released after tonight’s game against the Dodgers and made available to all interested major league teams as a free agent.

The 31-year-old Hawpe has posted an ugly .642 OPS and two home runs since the All-Star break, but part of his struggles can be equated to a lack of playing time and he should be rejuvenated in joining a playoff race.  If he joins a playoff race.

Renck believes that the Rangers and Red Sox will show interest, but look for a good helping of teams to jump in on the negotiations.  He’s not exactly a versatile player — and probably needs to be limited to a corner outfield or first base job — but Hawpe still has great power potential and a .280/.374/.492 career batting line.

  1. Levi Stahl - Aug 18, 2010 at 10:52 PM

    Despite all the talk about this possibility in the past few days, this surprises me. I know Hawpe has been awful this season, but I’m still surprised the Rockies couldn’t get anything for him in trade, given the power he offers (at least in theory).

  2. onemilemore - Aug 18, 2010 at 11:59 PM

    An over-30 player who isn’t versatile? Brian Sabean, line one!

  3. Pisano - Aug 19, 2010 at 1:07 AM

    It seems anyone that’s marginal or over the hill ,the Red Sox are interested in getting .

  4. Dwight Evans Mustache - Aug 19, 2010 at 4:53 AM

    The Sox did have a great interest in Lance Berkman, Austin Kearns, and Kerry Wood before the Yankees grabbed them up.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2486)
  2. D. Span (2327)
  3. G. Stanton (2259)
  4. Y. Puig (2225)
  5. J. Fernandez (2179)
  1. B. Crawford (2008)
  2. G. Springer (2000)
  3. M. Sano (1803)
  4. M. Teixeira (1801)
  5. J. Hamilton (1722)