Skip to content

Brewers dump Manny Parra from the rotation for third year in a row

Aug 26, 2010, 11:46 AM EDT

As expected, the Brewers have bumped Manny Parra from the rotation after an ugly start Sunday dropped him to 3-10 with a 5.65 ERA this season.
Chris Capuano will replace Parra in the rotation beginning Saturday against the Pirates. Capuano has pitched mostly in relief since coming back from Tommy John surgery, but was a longtime starter for the Brewers before the injury and has done well with a 3.72 ERA and 28/8 K/BB ratio in 29 innings.
When reporters approached Parra regarding the demotion he complained that they only want to talk to him about negative things, which is both true and completely unavoidable given that he’s been so awful for so long.
Since a promising first half to his rookie season in 2008 he has a 15-27 record and 5.99 ERA in 307 innings. What else are they supposed to talk to him about? Parra will be under team control as an arbitration eligible player in 2011, but I’ll be shocked if he’s not traded or non-tendered this offseason. Milwaukee has waited long enough for his above-average raw stuff to translate into something other than terrible results, and he’s now been dumped from the rotation in each of the past three seasons.

  1. supertramp - Aug 26, 2010 at 12:04 PM

    I’d bet on him staying with the Brewers. His trade value will never be lower yet he’s still not going to cost much next year. The best option is probably to put him in the bullpen, where he has had some success in the past.

  2. bbeer - Aug 26, 2010 at 3:45 PM

    The Crew’s pen sucks enough without this turd in there.

  3. Jess_Ball - Aug 26, 2010 at 7:44 PM

    This page reloaded while I was trying to add my thoughts on Mr. Parra. D@mn. I hope the paragraph doesn’t show up now. It would make for a confusing read.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. C. Correa (2569)
  2. G. Stanton (2556)
  3. H. Ramirez (2533)
  4. G. Springer (2513)
  5. B. Crawford (2327)
  1. M. Teixeira (2316)
  2. H. Pence (2235)
  3. J. Baez (2224)
  4. J. Hamilton (2183)
  5. Y. Puig (2132)