Skip to content

Today is the real trade deadline

Aug 31, 2010, 1:00 PM EDT

We all got excited on July 31st — I even blogged on a Saturday, man! — but that wasn’t the real trade deadline. Just ask Manny.  That was the non-waiver trade deadline. Today is the real day you have to have your changes made, because barring some complicated maneuvers involving the disabled list, your team at midnight tonight is your team for the playoffs.

If the chatter is any guide, it doesn’t seem like many if any deals will go down.  The closest to anything approaching actionable intelligence is Jon Paul Morosi reporting that Ted Lilly is on waivers and could be claimed by someone today. His last start notwithstanding, he’s been great since coming over to the Dodgers from the Cubs, so he’d certainly help someone and could be claimed. The team he’d help the most right now is the Yankees, but the odds of him falling that far are pretty slim.

Anyway, we won’t go haywire about it today like we did in July, but do keep checking back throughout the day, because a deal could definitely go down.

  1. Jonny5 - Aug 31, 2010 at 1:25 PM

    Baez ended up on the DL. hmmmm? I don’t exactly remember him becoming injured….The W sox threw 3 guys on the DL too. See Twitter does have it’s up side afterall.

  2. Utley's hair - Aug 31, 2010 at 2:38 PM

    The way he’s pitched for most of the season, he must be disabled.

  3. Simon DelMonte - Aug 31, 2010 at 2:40 PM

    It’s always a little more interesting to see who gets called up today. Every so often there is a Gregg Jefferies, who got a call-up as a rookie just in time to be part of the playoff roster. Or a Kevin Elster (actually an injury replacement early in September, according to, who earned a World Series ring in ’86 without doing much at all and who then didn’t make it back to the majors till ’88.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. B. Crawford (2794)
  2. C. Correa (2533)
  3. Y. Puig (2492)
  4. G. Stanton (2438)
  5. G. Springer (2367)
  1. H. Pence (2283)
  2. J. Hamilton (2170)
  3. M. Teixeira (1958)
  4. H. Ramirez (1933)
  5. J. Fernandez (1902)