Sep 9, 2010, 3:46 PM EDT
There was an odd moment in last night’s Giants-Diamondbacks game when Santiago Casilla set out to intentionally walk Adam LaRoche and instead fired a 63-mph “fastball” right down the middle for a first-pitch strike.
MLB.com has the video, which is worth checking out if only to see LaRoche’s dumbfounded reaction to what had just happened.
Casilla went on to successfully fire the next four pitches out of the strike zone despite getting ahead in the count 0-1. And it worked, because he induced an inning-ending double play from the next batter, Mark Reynolds.
I’ve always assumed that some team somewhere has faked an intentional walk and thrown a strike to get ahead in the count, but doing it on accident is definitely a first. I give the home-plate umpire credit for paying enough attention to actually call it a strike.
- And That Happened: Tuesday’s scores and highlights 41
- Andrew McCutchen departs game versus Cardinals after aggravating injured left rib cage 3
- Mariners extend general manager Jack Zduriencik’s contract 12
- Money, money, money (and Bud Selig’s nirvana) 14
- These days, the correlation between payroll and winning is historically weak 60
- And That Happened: Monday’s scores and highlights 49
- Report: Cubs calling up top prospect outfielder Jorge Soler 40
- Shin-Soo Choo to undergo season-ending bone spur surgery on elbow 13
- The Cubs grounds crew was short staffed because the Cubs were trying to avoid Obamacare (247)
- Forgiveness for Pete Rose? Not in this lifetime (143)
- Cuban outfielder Rusney Castillo to sign with the Red Sox for $72 million (96)
- A pitch clock in Major League Baseball? No thanks. (92)
- Even if he’s reinstated, does Pete Rose make the Hall of Fame? (89)