Skip to content

Report: MLB will overturn Ian Kinsler's one-game suspension

Sep 15, 2010, 5:45 PM EDT

Well, that was quick.
Ian Kinsler’s one-game suspension for returning to the field to celebrate Nelson Cruz’s walk-off homer after he’d been ejected for arguing with the home-plate umpire will be overturned, according to Richard Durrett of
Many suspensions are lessened after appeals, but rarely is a suspension overturned completely and in the case of a one-game suspension this basically boils down to MLB saying, “Whoops, nevermind.”

  1. Proudly Canadian - Sep 15, 2010 at 5:54 PM

    I do not see how in all fairness that MLB could have suspended him. After all, the game was over when Kinsler returned to the field.

  2. Old Gator - Sep 15, 2010 at 6:14 PM

    Fairness? Is that some kind of strange northern sporting concept? I could see Sargent Preston saying something like that….

  3. Proudly Canadian - Sep 15, 2010 at 6:29 PM

    Mush! On you Huskies. Mush!
    Now if the NFL could do something about that Detroit non touchdown!

  4. RichardInBigD - Sep 15, 2010 at 6:54 PM

    Technically, the game wasn’t over until NC17 actually CROSSED the plate, but I guess the league office figured the Rangers have already been screwed out of a gam by a technicality (Mike Young touching 3rd base coach before heading back), and it was FINALLY time to give the Rangers a break. BTW, NC17 is a ticket nickname for Nelson Cruz (#17)…

  5. Utley's hair - Sep 15, 2010 at 11:12 PM

    I was kinda hoping you meant something else, but…

  6. RickB - Sep 16, 2010 at 12:03 PM

    How could they lessen a one-game suspension? Reduce it to half a game? “Well, fans, Ian Kinsler’s starting for the Rangers tonight, but he’ll start serving his suspension in the bottom of the fifth…”

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2902)
  2. D. Span (2472)
  3. G. Stanton (2387)
  4. J. Fernandez (2378)
  5. G. Springer (2299)
  1. Y. Puig (2193)
  2. F. Rodney (2180)
  3. M. Teixeira (2111)
  4. G. Perkins (2029)
  5. H. Olivera (1888)