Skip to content

Nyjer Morgan expected to return to Nats' lineup Saturday

Sep 24, 2010, 7:58 PM EDT

Nyjer Morgan wraps up his eight-game suspension today, which means that he is expected to return to the starting lineup for Saturday’s game against the Braves, reports Adam Kilgore of the Washington Post.

As our own Drew Silva told us over the weekend, Morgan used his time away from the diamond to make some much-needed amends, but from what he told Kilgore on Friday, it sounds like he has also gained a new perspective on things.

“I’m happy everything is over with,” Morgan said. “Now I can just keep
going and look at the positives and keep trying to build. Just try to
finish strong, just try to get some momentum going into next year.”

“Be smart about certain situations. Don’t let my emotions get the best of me. That’s it.”

Morgan, 30, is batting .258/.318/.318 with 23 RBI, 57 runs scored and 33 stolen bases in 50 attempts this season. There’s still a pretty good chance he’ll end up non-tendered by the Nationals in December, but he at least has the final few games of the season to showcase the best parts of his game.

  1. Old Gator - Sep 25, 2010 at 1:33 AM

    It’s possible that Morgan is actually educable retarded as opposed to completely retarded, and it’s nice to see him trying to atone for some of his idiocies. Still, I’m kinda hoping that before the season is out he runs into some catcher catches a couple of Morgan’s ribs if not his skull with his knees, and Morgan spends a good part of the offseason trying to see the error of the rest of his ways through a fog of painkillers and dizzy spells. Might be instructive to view the world through the eyes of a couple of his gratuitous victims, you know?

  2. Buccofan - Sep 25, 2010 at 2:25 AM

    A little chin music, maestro!

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. B. Crawford (2721)
  2. Y. Puig (2372)
  3. G. Stanton (2345)
  4. C. Correa (2297)
  5. G. Springer (2247)
  1. H. Pence (2122)
  2. J. Hamilton (2062)
  3. M. Teixeira (1859)
  4. H. Ramirez (1849)
  5. J. Fernandez (1835)