Skip to content

Jose Bautista hits homers 53 and 54, including first opposite field blast of the season

Oct 1, 2010, 11:17 AM EDT

Jose Bautista broke out of a 0-for-20 slump in a big way last night, smacking his 53rd and 54th homers of the season. And remarkably No. 54 was the first homer all year he’s hit to the opposite field.
Seriously, look at this mesmerizing video showing Bautista’s first 52 homers in two minutes and see how many aren’t pulled to left field or, in a few instances, smashed to left-center field.
“I was actually just trying to make contact,” Bautista told Jordan Bastian of “I can’t even, I don’t even know what happened with that one. Somehow it went over, but I’ll take it.”
As a team the Blue Jays have 253 homers this season, which is 46 more than any other team in baseball this year and the fourth-most homers in baseball history behind the 1997 Mariners (264), 2005 Rangers (260), and 1996 Orioles (257).
Bautista is now up to 19th on the single-season homer list, tied with Alex Rodriguez in 2007, David Ortiz in 2006, Mickey Mantle in 1961, Ralph Kiner in 1949, and Babe Ruth in 1920 and 1928.

  1. Mr. Heyward - Oct 1, 2010 at 11:31 AM

    That is just ridictastically amazerrific.

  2. Jonny5 - Oct 1, 2010 at 11:35 AM

    He should urinate on anyone who says he needs to be tested for PED’s. “Here, you do with it, what you wish.”

  3. Detroit Michael - Oct 1, 2010 at 11:35 AM

    I hope he hits six more this weekend. Go, Jose!

  4. andrewlw - Oct 1, 2010 at 11:51 AM

    Probably not enough to take the MVP from Hamilton, but he better finish second!

  5. John_Michael - Oct 1, 2010 at 11:58 AM

    That’s the funniest thing you’ve ever said.

  6. Ari Collins - Oct 1, 2010 at 12:05 PM

    I think Cabrera and Beltre and possibly others finish above Bautista. You never know, though.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2559)
  2. B. Crawford (2376)
  3. Y. Puig (2326)
  4. G. Springer (2145)
  5. D. Wright (2047)
  1. J. Hamilton (2028)
  2. J. Fernandez (2015)
  3. H. Ramirez (1946)
  4. C. Correa (1941)
  5. D. Span (1935)