Skip to content

Yankees loss gives Rays the AL East title

Oct 3, 2010, 5:52 PM EDT

The Red Sox came through for the Rays, besting the Yankees in the final two games of a three-game series and giving Tampa Bay the AL East title in the process.
The Rays and Yankees entered the day with identical 95-66 records, but the Rays held the tiebreaker and thus clinched home-field advantage with the Yankees’ loss. The Rays went on to beat the Royals 3-2 in 11 innings, giving them an AL-high 96 victories.
Boston beat the Yankees 8-4 behind John Lackey’s second 10-strikeout game of the season and homers from J.D. Drew and Jed Lowrie. Lowrie went deep twice, giving him a surprising nine homers in 172 at-bats.
The Yankees’ loss settled the playoff picture in the AL. The Bombers will travel to Minnesota as the league’s wild card entry. The Rays will play host to the Rangers.

  1. RichardInBigD - Oct 3, 2010 at 7:31 PM

    The Rangers playing someone besides the Evil Empire in the playoffs? How do I act? What do I think? Should I actually have hope that my ALCS tickets may be good for something? And who do I hope to play in the ALCS? Except for the “NY” on their unis, this actually looks like a team the Rangers can beat in the second round, but with the 1-12 Rangers record against the Yanks, would I rather plaay the better team in the second trip? I’m so confused! Maybe I should get hats for the Rangers bats, and sacrifice a chicken, and make sure the good cigars and rum are set aside for Jobu!

  2. RichardInBigD - Oct 3, 2010 at 7:33 PM

    Who cares? This piece’s headline begins with my two favorite words – “Yankees Loss”!

  3. Ari Collins - Oct 3, 2010 at 7:49 PM

    At least my Sox did some good. Almost makes up for Carlos Santana’s injury, which I still feel strangely bad about in a vicarious kinda way.

    Hopefully the Twins can get some revenge on the Yankees for recent first round eliminations.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2999)
  2. J. Fernandez (2436)
  3. Y. Cespedes (2369)
  4. G. Stanton (2275)
  5. D. Span (2095)
  1. Y. Puig (2011)
  2. F. Rodney (1974)
  3. M. Teixeira (1959)
  4. G. Springer (1921)
  5. H. Olivera (1898)