Skip to content

Matt Murton is Japan's new single-season hit king, breaking Ichiro Suzuki's record

Oct 5, 2010, 11:17 AM EDT

Matt Murton went 3-for-5 last night, giving the former Cubs outfielder 213 hits on the year to break Japan’s single-season record of 210 hits set by Ichiro Suzuki in 1994.
Murton still has two more games to add to his total, although it’s worth noting that Suzuki played when the Japanese schedule was 130 games, compared to the current 144-game schedule. Murton acknowledged the difference in season lengths after breaking Suzuki’s record:

1994 and 2010 are two different seasons. He did it in 130 games. It is what it is, it’s a great honor. In terms of Ichiro, this doesn’t change anything. He’s one of the best players in baseball.

Meanwhile, last month Suzuki became the first player in MLB history to reach 200 hits in 10 consecutive seasons and joined Pete Rose as just the second player in MLB history to have 200 hits in 10 seasons, period. Prior to signing with the Mariners in 2001 he captured seven straight batting titles in Japan.

  1. fabs - Oct 5, 2010 at 11:33 AM

    Thats Roy Halladay with long hair.

  2. RichardInBigD - Oct 5, 2010 at 12:20 PM

    So is this one of those guys that would tear up AAAA ball, but be mediocre in the bigs, or did somebody in Japan figure out where his switch was and how to turn it on? What would an American team pay for a Japanese born player with those numbers? What will they pay for him?

  3. IdahoMariner - Oct 5, 2010 at 12:40 PM

    and the guy has class, you have to root for a guy like that.

  4. birdmancometh - Oct 5, 2010 at 1:12 PM

    Good for him. I’m guessing he’d make more money staying in Japan as an all-star than coming back here to be a 4th outfielder or starting corner OF on a bad team.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2933)
  2. D. Span (2488)
  3. G. Stanton (2410)
  4. J. Fernandez (2390)
  5. G. Springer (2351)
  1. Y. Puig (2252)
  2. F. Rodney (2190)
  3. M. Teixeira (2139)
  4. G. Perkins (2051)
  5. H. Olivera (1904)