Skip to content

The Braves will go with a three-man rotation. Probably.

Oct 5, 2010, 1:36 PM EDT

Bobby Cox just announced that his playoff rotation will be Derek Lowe, Tommy Hanson, Tim Hudson and then either Lowe on three days rest or Brandon Beachy. No Jair Jurrjens. He’s down in Florida trying to get healthy. He may be back by the NLCS if the Braves get that far.

I assume that by “Brandon Beachy” he meant “no, really, Lowe on three days rest,” because while I think this Beachy kid has something of a future, I really don’t want Game 4 of what would by then, by definition, be a tight playoff series started by a minor league swingman who, if he showed anything these past few weeks, it’s that he’s not yet ready for late season, pressure-baseball. 

Lowe may be cooked by the time Game 4 comes around, but Beachy — no matter how much I want to root for him — needs some more time in the oven.

  1. Jonny5 - Oct 5, 2010 at 2:01 PM

    If the Braves and Phills advance wouldn’t you see Beachy used twice against them? I think the Phills kinda have Lowe’s number more so than Beachy don’t you? Unless it’s the whole “playoff experience” thing here?

  2. geoknows - Oct 5, 2010 at 2:07 PM

    I wouldn’t put Beachy out on a major league mound unless he junks that string-straight fastball or learns to throw a cutter or something. He’s lucky that Bobby Cox grabbed the hook just inches short of him getting shelled in each of his outings or his numbers wouldn’t be near so pretty.

  3. Kevin S. - Oct 5, 2010 at 2:23 PM

    I think the Braves are hoping JJ gets healthy by that point. Hudson/Hanson/Jurrjens/Lowe is a quality playoff rotation.

  4. Jonny5 - Oct 5, 2010 at 2:30 PM

    Will JJ even be effective right off the DL? I didn’t think he’d be back this season.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. B. Crawford (2864)
  2. C. Correa (2672)
  3. Y. Puig (2595)
  4. G. Stanton (2574)
  5. G. Springer (2546)
  1. H. Pence (2420)
  2. H. Ramirez (2273)
  3. J. Hamilton (2253)
  4. M. Teixeira (2211)
  5. J. Baez (2129)