Skip to content

Phillies take advantage of sloppy Reds, lead 2-0 in series

Oct 8, 2010, 10:25 PM EDT

Roy Oswalt was far from unhittable tonight. In fact, he gave up a home run to Brandon Phillips, the very first batter of the game. It’s all good, though, because the Reds forgot to bring their gloves to the ballpark.

The Reds matched a Division Series record with four errors, handing the Phillies to a 7-4 victory and a 2-0 advantage in the NLDS. You wouldn’t know it, but the Reds were tied with the Padres for the least errors in the league (72) during the regular season. Going further, Brandon Phillips, Scott Rolen and Jay Bruce are three of the finest defenders in all of baseball at their respective positions, yet they all committed errors tonight. Phillips, who went 3-for-4 and finished a triple short of the cycle, had two of them.

The Phillies will gladly take it, though. Just like Chase Utley took first base against Aroldis Chapman on a questionable hit-by-pitch call by home plate umpire Bruce Dreckman in the decisive three-run seventh inning. Utley barely reacted to the pitch, so we’re not talking about a Jeter situation here, but after the game, the second baseman was pretty candid with reporters, saying he wasn’t sure if he was actually hit with the ball. That’ll happen with a 102 mph fastball, I’m sure, but replays indicate they definitely caught a break. Again, the Phillies will gladly take it.

At least the Reds get to return home for Game 3 on Sunday, but they are staring elimination in the face. 

  1. Buccofan - Oct 9, 2010 at 12:06 AM

    Oh God, as if Reds fans need an excuse for their almost-incessant whining. It’s funny how when they win, it’s their skill, but when they lose, it’s a fix, or prejudice against the Reds, or a bad call, or…

  2. Florioisanidiot1 - Oct 9, 2010 at 9:20 AM

    This one’s for you buccofan (how’s you’re team doing btw?)
    Reds choked this one away for sure, but that seventh inning was a joke.
    Utley never got hit by the pitch, but gets first base. Then he’s out at 2nd, but called safe. Heads from 2nd to 3rd on a hit, runs out of the base pads and isn’t called on it, and replay shows that he didn’t even touch 3rd base.
    Complete joke.
    Reds probably still blow it in the end, but damn that was awful officiating.

  3. Coach - Oct 9, 2010 at 9:44 AM

    Speaking of idiots, if you were a baseball fan you would know that you don’t run out of a base “pad” – it’s a base “path”. Before you make fun of someone else, you should know what the hell you are talking about.

  4. Florioisanidiot1 - Oct 9, 2010 at 10:47 AM

    who exactly was I making fun of?

  5. soccermom17540 - Oct 9, 2010 at 7:14 PM

    Both Utley & Rolen say he touched 3rd. Granted the other calls weren’t great but both teams just played plain sloppy ball. Phillies were just able to take better advantage of it.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (3003)
  2. D. Span (2550)
  3. G. Stanton (2498)
  4. J. Fernandez (2460)
  5. G. Springer (2457)
  1. Y. Puig (2345)
  2. F. Rodney (2226)
  3. M. Teixeira (2213)
  4. G. Perkins (2092)
  5. B. Crawford (1974)