Skip to content

Pat Listach no longer in mix to become Cubs' new manager

Oct 11, 2010, 12:45 PM EDT

Nationals third base coach Pat Listach was on the short list to become the Cubs’ new manager, but Bill Ladson of reports that the former Rookie of the Year is no longer in the running for the job.
Ladson notes that Listach “is still respected by the organization” from his days managing in the Cubs’ minor league system, including going 83-59 at Triple-A Iowa in 2008. Listach previously said the Cubs’ job would be “a dream come true.”
Instead he’ll likely try to land the gig replacing Cito Gaston in Toronto. Meanwhile, this seemingly indicates that the Cubs have narrowed their search down, with interim manager Mike Quade and Ryne Sandberg the presumed front-runners.

  1. BC - Oct 11, 2010 at 1:03 PM

    Worst Rookie Of The Year winner ever?
    Don’t count guys like Mark Fidrych that got hurt almost instantly.
    Yeah, I think Listach might be it. Thoughts?

  2. Buccofan - Oct 11, 2010 at 1:08 PM

    Bob Hamelin
    Joe Charbonneau
    Ted Sizemore
    Todd Hollandsworth
    And I’m sure that there are even worse.

  3. BC - Oct 11, 2010 at 1:24 PM

    My thoughts:
    Hamelin is a good one
    Charbonneau is in the Fidrych category, he basically was a walking injury
    Ted Sizemore – who I had to look up – had 1,300 career hits, so no
    Todd Hollandsworth played over a decade and hit .273, so no
    But I’ll give you Hamelin. Good catch.

  4. Mr. Heyward - Oct 11, 2010 at 1:37 PM


  5. Mrsteve - Oct 11, 2010 at 2:04 PM

    Why did Listach get involved in that brawl with his cheap shot on the pitcher when he wasn’t looking. Boderline gay how he dove on him.

  6. The Baseball Idiot - Oct 11, 2010 at 2:22 PM

    The Rookie of the Year is for the year they recieved it in. It’s not the Rookie of the Future. If it was, you would be right. But all the guys on your list were good choices for what the award is. The best rookie in a given year.
    If you want an award for the best rookie over a career, they already have that. It’s call the Hall of Fame.
    If you’re going to condemn these guys for not achieving any sustained excellence, you need to expand the list to MVP”s, Gold Glove winners, and Cy Young awardees. As well as any other award that is given out annually.

  7. BC - Oct 11, 2010 at 2:43 PM

    OK. Well, here’s an easy one: Worst Gold Glove – Rafael Palmiero, the year he played like 23 games at first base and won it.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. B. Crawford (2864)
  2. C. Correa (2672)
  3. Y. Puig (2595)
  4. G. Stanton (2574)
  5. G. Springer (2546)
  1. H. Pence (2420)
  2. H. Ramirez (2273)
  3. J. Hamilton (2253)
  4. M. Teixeira (2211)
  5. J. Baez (2129)