Skip to content

Billy Beane thinks Sandy Alderson would be perfect for Mets

Oct 12, 2010, 10:48 AM EDT

All things Billy Beane have lost quite a bit of gravitas over the past few years, but the A’s general manager still makes headlines when he weighs in on various topics and said yesterday that he thinks Sandy Alderson would be the perfect fit as the Mets’ next GM.

There’s no question he would change the image there. Right away, there would be direction and vision. That seems to be what people are calling out for. I have zero doubt that it would work, no reservations. His background suggests that he would thrive with something like this situation. It would be an incredible fit. He’s got a Hall of Fame resume. And he’s going to bring the best and brightest to work with him. And they want to work for him. There was never a time when I worked for him that I was restless, because there was never a day I didn’t learn something from him.

Beane was Alderson’s assistant in the 1990s and then succeeded him as A’s general manager. By most accounts Alderson is the clear front-runner for the Mets’ job and some reports have even suggested that interviewing non-Alderson candidates is little more than a formality before New York hires him.

  1. Old Gator - Oct 12, 2010 at 11:05 AM

    Sandy, make sure your contract reads “Kiss My Ass” and that you keep the original copy in your vault.

  2. Buccofan - Oct 12, 2010 at 11:56 AM

    If the Mets hire Alderson, let’s hope he doesn’t believe his press clippings like Beane has. Brainy Billy has aged a little, his teams haven’t performed as well as his printouts say they should, and he isn’t as much of a media darling anymore.

  3. birdmancometh - Oct 12, 2010 at 1:47 PM

    How about that…a Pirates fan being critical of another team. I’ll bet you’d pay top dollar to get those “printouts” in Pitt.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2405)
  2. B. Crawford (2313)
  3. Y. Puig (2292)
  4. G. Springer (2066)
  5. D. Wright (2011)
  1. J. Hamilton (1999)
  2. J. Fernandez (1981)
  3. D. Span (1916)
  4. H. Ramirez (1885)
  5. C. Correa (1852)