Skip to content

No. 1 pick Bryce Harper to play in the Arizona Fall League

Oct 13, 2010, 1:19 PM EDT

After initially indicating that they wouldn’t send Bryce Harper to the Arizona Fall League, the Nationals have changed their mind. According to general manager Mike Rizzo, the No. 1 overall pick will play for the Scottsdale Scorpions “effective immediately.”
Bill Ladson of reports that Harper will be on the Scorpions “taxi squad,” which means he’ll only play twice per week. According to Ladson “the club did not want Harper to be idle for the next two months” after hitting .319 in his unofficial professional debut in an instructional league.
Because Harper is only 17 years old the Nationals had to request a special exemption from MLB to allow him to play in the AFL, but that obviously wasn’t much of a hurdle given that MLB is surely in favor of Harper and the AFL getting as much attention as possible.
Despite changing their stance on Harper playing in the AFL the Nationals are expected to send him to Single-A for his official pro debut next season.

  1. Mr. Heyward - Oct 13, 2010 at 1:33 PM

    That man can’t even recall the first gulf war b/c he wasn’t born yet. Holy hell I’m old as ballz.

  2. birdmancometh - Oct 13, 2010 at 1:55 PM

    You can’t be too old if you’re using the letter “z” as an “s” Thats so rad.

  3. Mr. Heyward - Oct 13, 2010 at 2:42 PM

    I’m old enough to remember clearly both Bill & Ted movies, brah. Those movies were both excellent and bogus.

  4. doctorfunke - Oct 13, 2010 at 3:11 PM

    Wyld Stallyns!!

  5. Mr. Heyward - Oct 13, 2010 at 3:31 PM

    [playing air guitar]

  6. Trevor B - Oct 13, 2010 at 3:42 PM

    My grandfather has facebook. Don’t doubt that. He is old enough to be Harper’s great Grandfather.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (3025)
  2. J. Fernandez (2475)
  3. Y. Cespedes (2398)
  4. G. Stanton (2332)
  5. D. Span (2148)
  1. Y. Puig (2055)
  2. F. Rodney (2037)
  3. M. Teixeira (1975)
  4. G. Springer (1943)
  5. H. Olivera (1920)