Skip to content

Fenway Park is going to be rotten with video boards next year

Oct 19, 2010, 3:59 PM EDT


The Red Sox announced their latest — and I believe last — round of improvements to Fenway Park.  I’ve not been there, but I’m told that it’s been a pretty good project, overall. The park is getting nice upgrades. It’s a lot nicer and cleaner and more fan friendly than it used to be. But hey, you gotta pay for that somehow, right?

Three new High Definition video display and scoring systems will be installed this off-season at Fenway Park and will represent a significant upgrade over the existing scoreboards. The Red Sox selected ANC Sports to install three new state-of-the-art Mitsubishi Electric Diamond Vision light emitting diode (LED) video screens.

The largest of the three screens, measuring approximately 38 feet high by 100 feet wide, will be the main video board in center field and replace the existing elements of the structure above the bleachers in center field, which was originally constructed prior to the 1976 season.

Since they never show the replays you really want to see on those big boards (i.e. the disputed calls) they’re mostly for advertising. Such is the way of the world.

  1. JBerardi - Oct 19, 2010 at 5:58 PM

    Looks good to me. Fenway already has a (crappy) video board, and it already has plenty advertisements in the space that these boards will inhabit, so I don’t really see the downside here. Also, the reply I really want to see is the 8th inning go-ahead home run, not some disputed call, and I think they’ll play that. All of the renovations to Fenway have been fantastic so far; the management has definitely earned the benefit of the doubt on these things with me.

    Peter Abraham has all the details here:

    FWIW, the video suggests that there’s going to be an awful lot of game info on these boards; hopefully that holds true in reality.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2762)
  2. C. Correa (2615)
  3. Y. Puig (2610)
  4. G. Springer (2568)
  5. B. Crawford (2488)
  1. H. Ramirez (2487)
  2. H. Pence (2393)
  3. M. Teixeira (2314)
  4. J. Hamilton (2281)
  5. J. Baez (2262)