Skip to content

Get on with it, will ya Mets?

Oct 22, 2010, 3:06 PM EDT

I suppose a well-considered decision is better than an impulsive one, but it does seem like the Mets are taking their sweet time on this GM thing.

The team just sent out an email to fans saying that they’re bringing back former Diamondbacks GM Josh Byrnes and Sandy Alderson for a second round of interviews. Which, given that Alderson has already been in twice for interviews means that it will his third time meeting with Mets officials.

I know it’s an important job, but really, what’s taking so long here? It’s not like these two are part of a big slate of entry level applicants who could only get 30 minute across-the-desk interviews when they were in before. What else do you need to know?

  1. Utley's Hair - Oct 22, 2010 at 3:53 PM

    I thought MLB wanted this kind of stuff to wait until after or between playoff series.

  2. yankees1996 - Oct 22, 2010 at 4:33 PM

    They will hire no GM before his time.

    • Utley's Hair - Oct 22, 2010 at 4:39 PM

      And keep him on far after his effectiveness has waned.

  3. jimbeetle - Oct 22, 2010 at 6:02 PM

    My thought, with absolutely nothing to base it on, is maybe Alderson wants a bit more than a GM title.

  4. rabiague1986 - Oct 22, 2010 at 9:05 PM

    MLB needs to stick it with this no announcements during the playoffs. Like I’m not going to watch the playoffs if a non-playoff team announces a new General manager or manager. They need to have the pieces in place to plan their off seasons. Alderson should be their guy and it would be even better if they made him a President and let him hire Byrnes, Baird or White as GM.

  5. aious - Oct 23, 2010 at 3:59 PM

    Why? If I am the Mets, I want to make sure I hire the right person so take your time.

    There is no rush at the moment

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (3037)
  2. J. Fernandez (2490)
  3. Y. Cespedes (2410)
  4. G. Stanton (2348)
  5. D. Span (2188)
  1. F. Rodney (2069)
  2. Y. Puig (2069)
  3. M. Teixeira (1986)
  4. G. Springer (1958)
  5. H. Olivera (1928)