Skip to content

Blue Jays keeping length of John Farrell’s contract a secret

Oct 25, 2010, 5:16 PM EDT


This afternoon the Blue Jays officially introduced former Red Sox pitching coach John Farrell as their new manager, but neither Farrell nor general manager Alex Anthopoulos were willing to disclose the length of his contract.

Anthopoulos told Jordan Bastian of that the secrecy is needed because knowing contract details “creates unneeded speculation and takes attention away from the team.”

In other words, it’ll be harder for people to speculate about Farrell’s job status if they don’t even know how long he’s signed for.

If every detail of players’ contracts are made public it only seems fair that the same is true for managers and even general managers, but the whole secrecy thing with Farrell is particularly odd considering there’s almost zero chance of everyone involved actually keeping it a secret. Eventually someone involved with the Blue Jays will tell someone involved with the media, at which point the team’s attempts to keep the contract length under wraps will seem even weirder.

  1. bloodysock - Oct 25, 2010 at 6:56 PM

    He probably got a two year deal with two club options of one year each.

  2. Detroit Michael - Oct 25, 2010 at 7:29 PM

    I’m sure the player contract info is shared due to collective bargaining. Managers are not union members. It doesn’t strike me as incongruous for player contracts to be public but not manager contracts.

  3. statslady - Oct 25, 2010 at 7:30 PM

    Why should the terms be publicized? I’m betting that the terms, for example, of Mr Gleeman’s contrast aren’t public knowledge. In fact, most people’s contracts or other work agreements are considered to be confidential information, so why not those of Mr Farrell.

  4. proudlycanadian - Oct 25, 2010 at 7:45 PM

    Come clean Gleeman. What are the terms of your employment?

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2616)
  2. B. Crawford (2426)
  3. Y. Puig (2352)
  4. G. Springer (2188)
  5. D. Wright (2055)
  1. J. Fernandez (2045)
  2. J. Hamilton (2041)
  3. C. Correa (1994)
  4. H. Ramirez (1982)
  5. D. Span (1943)