Skip to content

The Best and Worst Uniforms of All Time: The Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim

Nov 16, 2010, 1:00 PM EDT

California Angels

The Best: for a team that has been all over the place in terms of their geographic identify, they’ve generally been steady on their sartorial identity.  The red and white with the navy accents is a good look. The capital “A” with the halo is pretty inspired too.  They’re not awful now, but they wear vests and solid jerseys and do all kinds of trendy things that I just don’t care for. I prefer the Nolan Ryan/Bobby Grich era with the dark hats with the red bills. Take off the elastic waist bands and slap some buttons on those babies, and they’d look pretty sharp. The 1966-71 look is close, but I prefer the upper-case “A.”

The Worst: This atrocity is up there with the worst things the Athletics and the Diamondbacks ever wore. Maybe it’s not as assaulting as those, but it’s just wrong on so many levels. Like each component part — the vest, the pinstripes, the colors, the logo — were each designed by a different department of some giant corporation.  Which, in all fairness, they were.

Assessment: No, I’m not being too hard on those pinstriped things simply because Mo Vaughn looked awful in them. Even Jim Edmonds and Tim Salmon looked like butt in those things.

  1. Jonny 5 - Nov 16, 2010 at 1:16 PM

    I always loved the logo. Something about the A with a halo, I don’t know what it is honestly… Maybe Vlad wearing it did it to me? Maybe i like Angels? Although devils are wayy more cool… I just don’t know.

  2. BC - Nov 16, 2010 at 1:18 PM

    Did Mo Vaughn ever look good in any uniform? The guy’s gut was the size of Mars.

    • daninkatonah - Nov 16, 2010 at 4:24 PM

      Is that a gun in Reggie’s waistband???


Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (3074)
  2. J. Fernandez (2529)
  3. D. Span (2449)
  4. Y. Cespedes (2439)
  5. G. Stanton (2433)
  1. F. Rodney (2160)
  2. Y. Puig (2155)
  3. M. Teixeira (2115)
  4. G. Springer (2040)
  5. H. Olivera (1961)