Skip to content

Ron Gardenhire follows Manager of the Year award with contract extension

Nov 18, 2010, 11:18 AM EDT

Ron Gardenhire

Ron Gardenhire is having a pretty good week.

Yesterday he was named American League Manager of the Year after finishing runner-up for the award five times in the previous eight seasons and Joe Christensen of the Minneapolis Star Tribune reports that the Twins will soon announce a two-year contract extension for Gardenhire.

According to Christensen the Twins’ entire coaching staff has agreed to two-year contracts, while Gardenhire’s new deal will keep him in Minnesota through 2013.

Gardenhire has had little success in the playoffs, going 6-21 with 12 consecutive losses that includes three straight first-round sweeps at the Yankees’ hands, but he’s won six division titles in nine years after the Twins had just one winning season in the nine years before he took the job.

Overall he’s 803-656, which is good for a .550 winning percentage that ranks 23rd all time among managers with at least 1,000 games.

  1. Andrew - Nov 18, 2010 at 11:44 AM

    Unfortunately, the news of extending 3rd base coach Scott Ullger is going to annoy many fans because of all the runners that got thrown out at home last year.

  2. uyf1950 - Nov 18, 2010 at 11:47 AM

    Other than the Yankees signing Lee this winter, this could possibly be the best news any Yankee fan could hope for. Whenever the Yankees play the Twins in the post season through 2013 it’s an automatic win and advance to the next round.

  3. kander013 - Nov 18, 2010 at 12:22 PM

    go to hell uyf.

    • uyf1950 - Nov 18, 2010 at 12:42 PM

      Why so hostile? I was only giving my opinion like every other poster on any HardballTalk site. Or is it because you know I’m right?

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2470)
  2. D. Span (2317)
  3. G. Stanton (2247)
  4. Y. Puig (2207)
  5. J. Fernandez (2161)
  1. G. Springer (1979)
  2. B. Crawford (1952)
  3. M. Sano (1794)
  4. M. Teixeira (1788)
  5. J. Hamilton (1713)